Issue of October 21, 2012
Mt. Province

65th Courier Anniversary Issue
Other Links:
29 CAR candidates to run unopposed
by Harley Palangchao

There are 29 unopposed officials seeking electoral posts in the upcoming midterm elections in the Cordillera, with Apayao having the most number with 10.

Records released by the regional office of the Commission on Elections show that 14 candidates for vice mayor, 13 for mayor, and two incumbent vice governors in the region are “luckiest bets” for the 2013 polls.

In Apayao, Vice Gov. Hector Pascua, one of the most visible officials in regional affairs, led the long line of candidates with no opponents.

Long-time politician Elias Bulut Sr., who is known as the “godfather” of Apayao politics, is seeking reelection as mayor of Calanasan unopposed together with Vice mayor Martin Lawat.

But his son, Elias Jr. will face Amado Almazan for the governatorial post while his daughter, incumbent Rep. Eleanor Begtang is up against Ambaro Sagle.

The other unopposed officials in Apayao are mayors Leonardo Dangoy of Conner, Efren De San Jose of  Flora, Betty Verzola of  Luna, Joseph Amid, and Rolly Guiang of Sta. Marcela.  It will be a battle bet-ween Batara Laoat and Ronald Almazan for the mayorship of Pudtol.

The unopposed vice mayor bets in Apayao are Martin Lawat of Calanasan, Randy Begtang of Conner, and Evelyn Martinez of Sta. Marcela.

In Ifugao, four bets for vice mayor will have no opponents. They are Gaspar Chilagan Jr. in Aguinaldo, Roel Dulnuan in Kiangan, Martin Habawel of Lagawe, and Victomar Bunnol of Lamut.

Ifugao Rep. Teodoro Baguilat Jr. will be up against former congressman Solomon Chungalao while Gov. Eugene Balitang and Vice Gov. Pedro Mayam-o will have no opponents.

In Abra, seven bets for mayors and five vice mayors are also unopposed. The candidates for mayors are Victorino Baroña of  Bucay, Salma Padilla of Daguioman,  Marco Bautista of San Juan, Geroldo Aznar of San Quintin, Ernesto Pacsa Jr. of San Isidro, Guilbert Ballngan of Tubo, and Marjorie Lagen of Villaviciosa.

The unopposed  bets for vice mayor are Ludevina Co of  Bucay, Querico Stimson of  Boliney, Dominador Acnam of Danglas, Venerando Pacsa of San Isidro, and Jose Lagen Jr. of Villaviciosa.

The posts for congressman, governor, and vice governor in Abra are contested.

In  Kalinga, the unopposed  candidates are  Mayor James Edduba of  Pasil, Vice mayor Darwin Estranero of Tabuk City, and Mayor Irving Dasayon of Pinukpok who is running for vice mayor of the same town.

In Mountain Province, only Vice Gov. Bonifacio Lacwasan Jr., Besao Vice mayor Harry Luis Baliaga, and Bauko Vice mayor Simon Lacwasan are unopposed while Rep. Maximo Dalog Sr. and Gov. Leonard Mayaen are being contested.

In Benguet, it was reported earlier that five mayors and two vice mayors are also running unopposed.

They are mayors Mauricio Macay of Bokod, Faustino Aquisan of Kabayan, Benito Siadto of Kibungan, Arthur Baldo of Sablan, and Ruben Paoad of Tublay. The unopposed vice mayors are Romeo Salda of La Trinidad and Ireneo Calwag of Buguias.

There are no unopposed candidates in Baguio City.

Your Ad Here

BCDA assures qualified residents to get land titles

194,000 voters purged from registration list

RDC exec says no autonomy funds used for NY trade fair

BENECO ceases buying power from Asin plant

Baguio Central University
Lepanto Consolidated Mining Company
MMS Development Training Center Corporation
Pines City Colleges
SM City Baguio
Technical Education & Skills Development Authority
University of Baguio

Abanao Square
Brent International School
Data Center College of the Philippines
Gov. Leonard G. Mayaen
Interlink Security Management Corp.
Mayor Mauricio Domogan
Medline International Training Institute of Baguio
Pag-IBIG Fund
Philex Mining Corporation
Pines City Colleges
Pugad Pugo Adventure
Rep. Ronald M. Cosalan
SN Aboitiz
Texas Instruments
UP Baguio

Assumption Medical Diagnostic Center, Inc.
Baguio City Council
Baguio Memorial Chapels, Inc.
Baguio Water District
BSBT College
Curamed Pharmacy
Department of Agrarian Reform - CAR
Department of Agriculture–RFO–CAR
Department of Public Works and Highways - CAR
Department of Trade and Industry – CAR
Fabulo Beauty & Image Salon
Far East Pacific Commercial
Filipino – Japanese Foundation of Northern Luzon, Inc.
Forest House
GMS Technology
Goshen Land
Governor Nestor B. Fongwan
Healthforce1 Nursing Review Center
Heidelberg Philippines, Inc.
Hotel Elizabeth
Jaime V. Ongpin Foundation, Inc.
Kalapaw Restaurant
Maybank - Baguio Branch
Mayor Greg T. Abalos Jr.
Nagomi Spa
National Police Commission - Philippine National Police - Police Regional Office - CAR
NIIT – Baguio
Nova Lodge
Philippine Women’s University – CDCEC Baguio City, Inc.
Philippines Science High School – CAR
Rep. Bernardo Vergara
Rep. Maximo Dalog
Sangguniang Panlalawigan
Small World Christian School Foundation
The Golden Pine Hotel
VTA International Realty Corporation
Home | About Us | Editorial Policy | Contact Us
News | Opinion | Snapshots | Week's Mail | Obituaries
Copyright © 2007-2015. All Rights Reserved.