Issue of August 6, 2017
Mt. Province

Panagbenga Flower Festival
Other Links:
10 CAR outstanding students challenged to serve people
by Jane B. Cadalig with a report from PIA

OUSTANDING CAR STUDENTS -- The Ten Outstanding Students in the Cordillera Administrative Region (OSCAR) were feted in the regional recognition rites last July 31 at the Hotel Supreme with Department of Justice ASec. Cheryl Daytec-Yangot as guest of honor and speaker. This year’s OSCARs are Rou Jay Balagot, Brett Dales Maslang, and Avjine Magwiling from the University of the Cordilleras; John Oliver De Vera, Zion Jemillinium Tam-awen, and Mark Neil Pageet from the Benguet State University; Hearthel Kate Buyuccan from the Ifugao State University; Oliver Lance Insigne from the Abra State Institute of Science and Technology; Mark Lorenzo Permalino from Saint Louis University; and Romane Jasmin Manos from the Easter College. -- Redjie Melvic Cawis

The 10 exceptional students of the Cordillera who will represent the region in the national search that aims to select young but potential influencers and prime movers in nation-building were recognized on July 31 with a challenge for them to embrace the gift of being needed.

“You were given talents and the opportunity to be of service others. It will not hurt you to use your talents for the good of others. To be responsible for others is not a burden. It is a privilege; it is a gift,” Department of Justice ASec. Cheryl Daytec-Yangot told the finalists and 10 awardees of the regional search for Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines (TOSP).

Daytec-Yangot, who was the guest of honor during the regional TOSP recognition and awarding, said one of the main obligations of an outstanding student is to serve the people.

“This is why the award is given to students not only with superior academic performance but also with strong sense of community involvement,” she said.

The 10 Outstanding Students of the Cordillera Administrative Region (OSCAR) who will vie for the national TOSP search are  Rou Jay Balagot, Brett Dales Maslang and Ajvine Magwilang of the University of the Cordilleras; John Oliver De Vera, Zion JemilliniumTam-awen, and Mark Neil Pageet of the Benguet State University; Oliver Lance Insigne of the Abra State Institute of Science and Technology; Mark Lorenzo Permalino of the Saint Louis University; Romane Jasmin Manos of the Easter College; and Hearthel Kate Buyuccan of the Ifugao State University.

The 10 OSCAR awardees were selected from the 20 finalists fielded by the different colleges and universities in the region.

They were screened by the regional executive committee chaired by Commission on Higher Education OIC Director Geraldine Casipit and National Youth Commission North Luzon Coordinator Jun Angeles, Philippine Information Agency-CAR Director Helen Tibaldo, Baguio Host Lions Club President and Hotel Supreme Manager Mark Jefferson Ng, TOSP-CAR Executive Vice Chair Adrian Fernandez, and Oscar Alumni President and Program Standards Chair Ahmed Capuyan Abdullah Khayef.

The TOSP awards program recognizes students who have excelled academically, have demonstrated exemplary leadership, and have reached out to their communities through volunteer works – all founded on strong moral values – throughout their college life.

Your Ad Here

Young artists shine in arts tilt backed by homegrown mall

Baguio family is CAR’s Huwarang 4Ps unit

2 more 100–year–old elders honored

Ifugao agri, fishery body vying for most outstanding award

Department of Tourism – CAR
Informatics College
King’ College of the Philippines
University of Baguio

Baguio Country Club
Benguet Electric Coooperative, Inc.
Department of Health – CAR
Department of Labor and Employment – CAR
Mayor Mauricio G. Domogan
Mayor Romeo K. Salda
National Grid Corporation of the Philippines
Philex Mining Corporation
Philippine Information Agency – CAR
Philippine Veterans Bank
Pines City Colleges
Saint Louis University
Sangguniang Panlalawigan of Benguet
Sangguniang Panlungsod ng Baguio

AHEAD Tutorial and Review
Assumption Medical and Diagnostic Center
Baguio Center Mall
Baguio Central University
Baguio Multicultural Institute
Baguio Water District
Bureau of Jail Management and Penology
C & AAA Supermart
Congressman Mark O. Go
Congressman Ronald M. Cosalan
Cordillera Kidney Specialists, Inc.
Cordillera School of Digital Arts
Department of Agriculture – CAR
Department of Environment and Natural Resources – CAR
Department of Public Works and Highways – CAR
Department of Trade and Industry – CAR
Department of Transportation – CAR
Dreamforce Review and Training Center
Fabulo Beauty and Image Salon
Far East Pacific Commercial
Filipino–Japanese Foundation of Northern Luzon, Inc.
FOX Visus Immigration Consultancy
GMS Technology
Lepanto Consolidated Mining Company
Mother Earth Deli Basket
National Telecommunications Commission
Overseas Workers Welfare Administration – CAR
R.A. Gapuz Review Center, Inc.
Regional Tripartite Wages and Productivity Board – CAR
Rianella Printing Press
Social Security System
Solibao – Ganza Restaurant
Home | About Us | Editorial Policy | Contact Us  
News | Opinion | Snapshots | Week's Mail | Obituaries  
Copyright © 2007-2015. All Rights Reserved.