Issue of October 14, 2012
Mt. Province

65th Courier Anniversary Issue
Other Links:
Poll contest heats–up in Mountain Province
by Juliet B. Saley / PIA

BONTOC, Mountain Province – Bauko and Besao have unopposed candidates for the vice mayoralty race in the May 2013 elections.

Based on the report of the Commission on Elections office here, the unopposed candidates are incumbent Vice mayor Harry Baliaga of Besao and Mayor Simon Lacwasan of Bauko whose third term as mayor ends on June 30.

There are 30 aspirants in the mayoralty race for the 10 municipalities with Sabangan having the most in number with six candidates, followed by Barlig with four.

Of the 30 aspirants, eight are incumbent mayors seeking re-election.

In Barlig, the position of Mayor Edmundo Sidchayao who filed his candidacy in the sangguniang bayan is being contested by Vice mayor Pio Cupasan (Independent), Heraldo Lamaton (Liberal), Simon Layong (Liberal) and Councilor Clark Ngaya (Independent).

Candidates for vice mayor are councilors Fernando Cablog and Genesis Changilan, and Lambert Llopis all Independent while 36 candidates are contesting for the eight seats for councilor.

In Bauko, the position of Mayor Simon Lacwasan is being contested by Vice mayor Rodolfo Patnaan (Independent), Board Member Salvador Dalang (Liberal), and Abraham Akilit (Liberal). There are 24 candidates for the eight seats for councilor.

In Besao, Mayor Wellington Pooten (Liberal) is challenged by Go Kiley Martin (Independent) while 18 candidates contest for the eight sangguniang bayan seats.

Mayor Pascual Sacgaca of Bontoc (Liberal) is being contested by former mayor Franklin Odsey while Vice mayor William Aspilan is being contested by Peter Puma-at and Councilor Ignacio Afidchao. There are 25 candidates aspiring for the SB.

In Natonin, it is a fight between Mayor Mateo Chiyawan (Liberal) and Djarma Rafael (PDP-UNA). For the vice mayoralty race, it is a fight between Vice mayor Abel Bagsao (Liberal) and Councilor Leonel Dulay (Independent) while 31 candidates are aspiring for the SB.

In Paracelis, Mayor Avelino Amangyen (Liberal) is contested by Gavino Bucok. In the vice mayoralty race, it is a fight bet-ween Vice mayor Norma Enriqueta  Rafael (UNA) and Councilor Lorenzo Carpio (Liberal) while 26 candidates are aspiring for the SB.

In Sabangan, Mayor Donato Danglose is being contested by Lagan Barangay Chairman Mariano Jr. Teng-eg, former Association of Barangay Councils president Feliciano Liclic, Pablo Undalos, Benito Jr. Liwan, and Junbert Gunaden.

For the vice mayoralty race, it is a fight between Vice mayor Joseph Bernardez and Councilor Enrique Litilit while 21 candidates are aspiring for the SB.

Mayor Gabino Ganggangan (Liberal) of Sadanga is being contested by Geraldo Jr. Ackut and Banat Walis. Vice mayor Joseph Apopot is being contested by Councilor Albert Ayao-ao (Liberal) and Vicente Tic-chap. There are 46 candidates aspiring for the SB.

In Sagada, Mayor Eduardo Latawan (Liberal) is contested by Joey Taltala (Independent) and Vice mayor Richard Yodong (LDP-Laban). For vice mayor, it is contested by John Bagsingit, Benjamin Capuyan, and Jerry Ticag all Independent, while 31 candidates are contesting for the SB.

Mayor Anthony Wooden (Liberal) of Tadian is being contested by former mayor Sorrero Gullod (LDP-Laban) and Liberato Domingo (Independent) while Vice mayor Laurence Atipen (Liberal) is contested by Edwin James Baden (Independent). Thirty candidates are aspiring for the SB.

Your Ad Here

Committee formed to select aspiring president of MPSPC

Albergo Hotel and Residences
Baguio Country Club
University of Baguio
Venus Parkview Hotel

Baguio Central University
Benguet Electric Cooperative Inc.
Cong. Mark O. Go
Cong. Ronald Cosalan
Department of Education – CAR
Department of Health – CAR
Gov. Crescencio Pacalso
Lepanto Consolidated Mining Company
Narda’s and Sunflower Ridge
National Grid Corporation of the Philippines
Pines City Colleges
Sangguniang Panlungsod
SM City Baguio
University of the Philippines Baguio

Assumption Medical and Diagnostic Center
Baguio Center Mall
Baguio Water District
BSBT College, Inc.
Bureau of Internal Revenue
BVS Colleges
C &Triple A Supermart
Councilor Edgar M. Avila
Curamed Pharmacy
Department of Environment and Natural Resources – CAR
Department of Interior and Local Government – CAR
Department of Public Works and Highways – CAR
Fabulo Beauty and Image Salon
Far East Pacific Commercial
Filipino–Japanese Foundation of Northern Luzon, Inc.
GMS Technology
John Hay Management Corporation
King’s College of the Philippines
La Funeraria Paz, Inc.
Mayor Mauricio G. Domogan
Mother Earth Deli Basket
Overseas Workers Welfare Administration – CAR
Philex Mining Corporation
Police Regional Office – CAR
STI Baguio

Home | About Us | Editorial Policy | Contact Us
News | Opinion | Snapshots | Week's Mail | Obituaries
Copyright © 2007-2015. All Rights Reserved. baguiomidlandcourier.com.ph