March 27, 2023

Two Cordilleran women are among the awardees of the Honor Awards Program (HAP) of the Civil Service Commission (CSC) conferred by President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. during the awards rites at the Ceremonial Hall in Malacañan Palace on March 8.

Dr. Annie Claire Pekas of Mountain Province is among the Dangal ng Bayan awardees. She pioneered the Luis Hora Memorial Regional Hospital’s emergency responder called the ER-26, created its ambulatory surgery unit, established the One Hospital Command of Mountain Province, and performed surgeries even after her duty hours without claiming remuneration or compensatory days off.

Pekas, now the Provincial Health Officer II, worked at the LHMRH from April 2016 to June 15, 2021.  

The Dangal ng Bayan award recognizes public servants’ performance of an extraordinary act or public act or public service and consistent demonstration of the eight norms of conduct under the code of conduct and ethical standards for public officials and employees.

Nelly Agpawa Ngangay from Atok, Benguet is part of the Starbooks Team of the Department of Science and Technology central office which is among the Presidential Lingkod Bayan awardees. They were recognized for revolutionizing the concept of the library and developing interactive kiosk, promoting science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

The Presidential Lingkod Bayan award is the highest award given to public servants for exceptional or extraordinary contributions that had nationwide impact on public interest.

An annual activity of the CSC, the HAP aims to recognize and reward public service exemplars, as well as motivate or inspire civil servants, to improve the quality of their performance and instill deeper involvement in public service. – Debbie E. Gasingan