September 23, 2023

Eight insurgency-cleared villages in the Cordillera will receive P20 million each from the National Task Force to End Local Communist Armed Conflict (NTF-Elcac).
Trisha Marie Dogup, focal person of the Executive Order 70 program under the Department of the Interior and Local Government said there were no reports of insurgeny in the eight barangays from 2016 to 2019.
Proposed projects are farm-to-market roads, school buildings, water and sanitation systems, rural energization, housing, and medical, burial, transportation, food, cash-for-work, and educational assistance for indigent individuals or households.
Of the eight villages, six are in Abra (Barangays Bayabas, Buanao, Dulao, Duldulao, Ud-udiao in the municipality of Malibcong, and Barangay Naguilian in Salapadan town); Barangay Babalag East in Rizal, Kalinga; and Barangay Tamboan, Besao in Mountain Province.
Dogup said the eight barangays are also included in priority programs of the government.
For 2021, the Regional Task Force Elcac has identified 79 villages in CAR with programs, projects and activities proposed with national line agencies.
The European Union, through Council Decision 2011/70/CFSP dated Jan. 11, 2011, designated the Communist Party of the Philippines-NPA as a terrorist organization.
The CPP-NPA is also listed as a terrorist organization by the United States, the European Union, the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and the Philippines. – PNA