March 20, 2023

Seasoned biker Darwin Abenoja has emerged the men’s elite champion in the inaugural mountain bike fun event held at the newly opened bike course at Loakan Proper in Baguio City on weekend.
Dubbed as “Boost your morale-Baguio,” the activity was part of the 111th Charter Day celebration featuring two major categories – the downhill and cross-country biking event.
Abenoja finished the race in two minutes and 23.26 se-conds despite the rainy weather during the two-day event.
Schuyler Gil Ambaked topped the downhill men’s beginner open category in three minutes and 32.61 seconds followed by Joshua Beray with a time of four minutes and Arjay Viscaya with four minutes and 17.43 seconds.
Jude Nadera led the winners for the downhill junior boy (13 to 16 years old) followed by Aron Reign Ambaked and Jimson Baucan while the downhill youth boy (17 to 21 years old) was ruled by Thomas Dean Baday followed by Lourenz Abance and Rhon Gamay Orpilla.
Alieson Ken Omengan dominated the downhill senior’s men (22 to 29 years old) followed by Shatner Arinos Epler and Ryan Wayas to complete the top three winners in the event organized by Virago Bike and Run Events led by 24th Southeast Asian Games cycling gold medalist and 2009 Asian adventure racing champion Marites Bitbit. 
The downhill masters A men (30 to 39 years old) saw Joe Kenneth Beray ruling the category followed by Jommel Dogulero.
Gary Vincent Padsing and Lawrence Martin Pila ranked first and second in the downhill masters B men (40 to 49 years old), respectively.
Marjorie Velo led winners in the cross-country beginner for the intermediate women’s open with a time of 29 minutes and 13.48 seconds followed by Kenie Nevan Jan Omengan and Trishan Badua.
In the cross-country junior boy (13 to 16 years old) category, Jan Kenneth Pacle ranked first followed by Kim Aeon Lance Dino and Ivan Acuin while Arnel Gayao topped the cross-country youth boy (17 to 21 years old) followed by Mead Nathaniel Dulay and Shun Colocob.
For the cross-country senior men (22 to 29 yrs old), Xy James Dacayanan ranked first and was trailed by Clint Salbino and Renniel Cabanes while Joseph Velo ruled the cross-country masters A men (30 to 39 years old) followed by Harry Tanoja and Kriston Lee Fuchigami.
Sonny Lamsis topped the masters B men (40 to 49 years old), followed by Padsing and Rommel Saguilot.
Samuel Egsaen topped the cross-country masters C men (50 and up) followed by Melvin Odsey during the event backed by GT Zaskar, Booster C, University of the Cordilleras, Baguio Fire Department, and Baguio City Sports and Recreation Division. – Ofelia C. Empian