October 2, 2023

FLOWER TEE WINNERS — Winners in the Flower Tee 2022 golf tournament held at Baguio Country Club on March 25 to 26 presented their trophies during awards night with veteran golfer Ramon Aldana as overall champion. Many of the top winners in the various categories are BCC members and dependents. — Contributed photo

Seasoned golfer Ramon Aldana has emerged the best player among a hundred participants in this year’s Flower Tee after firing a gross of 64 at the Baguio Country Club on March 25 to 26.
BCC mainstay Ely Lagman ruled the member’s class A with 49 Molave points followed by Edgar Tolentino with 43 and Lance Kiat-ong with 40 while Nora topped the ladies A with 35 followed by Vivian Chua and Beth Patterson with 32 and 31, respectively.
Earle Farrel fired 36 points to outclass Derek Bautista’s 32 points in the men’s class B with Bong Bangaoet settling in third place with 30 while Rachelle Julian topped the ladies B with 32 followed by Mel Donato with 27 and Letty Baquilar with 25.
BCC’s old reliable Mar Bustos collected 45 points to go home with the seniors’ class A champion’s trophy followed by Michael Morgan and Sevie Oliva with 40 and 39 points in that order while retired police general Ed Basbas topped the seniors’ B with 34 followed by Benito Ang, also with 34 and Isaac Go with 33.
In the guests’ category, Doy Mercado had 45 to rule the men’s A followed by Eduard Abellera and Noel Lamsis, both with 44 while Patrick Villanueva championed the men’s B with 33 followed by Amor Flores and John Paul Casem with 33 and 32 in that order.
Lamsis also won the nearest to the pin special award when his ball reached two feet near the pin at hole one.
In golf, some winners have the same points but rankings are also determined by the players’ handicap or through count back.
Cathryn Granada topped the ladies’ guest division with 41 followed by Cathy Neish and Demma Dulnuan with 38 and 36, respectively.
Police golfer Max Sumeg-ang was awarded the longest drive award after his ball landed at 286 yards at hole three while Joey Ancheta won the most accurate drive with his ball reaching three-fourth inch near the line at hole eight. – Harley F. Palangchao