July 21, 2024

The Automobile Association Philippines (AAP) has conferred the prestigious 2022 Driver of the Year award in circuit racing to Baguio boy Iñigo Anton during the 27th AAP Annual Motorsport Awards.

The awards night held at the World Trade Center on April 13 honored the best in Philippine motorsports for 2022 with AAP, which is the national sporting authority of the Federation Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) as the organizer.

DRIVER OF THE YEAR — Aside from winning three national racing titles, Baguio’s own Iñigo Anton, 18, has been named the 2022 Driver of the Year in circuit racing during the 27th AAP Annual Motorsports Awards at the World Trade Center on April 13. Anton is on the verge of surpassing the awards won by his father, Carlos, a multi-titled racing champion himself. — Contributed photo

The 18-year-old Anton, son of multi-titled racing champion Carlos Anton, brought home the most awards that night owing to his overall championship wins in the top classes of the Toyota Gazoo Racing Vios Cup, Philippine Grand Touring Car and the fastest car race series in the country – the Radical Challenge Philippines.

It was a banner year for the young phenom, who is clearly on a path to surpass his storied father’s career.

“I have been attending the AAP awards for 27 years now and to witness my son go up on stage for winning in different race championships in one year is quite exceptional. It is something I think has never occurred in the past,” said the older Anton.

The younger Anton was all smiles as he thanked his family, his racing teams, coaches, sponsors, and race organizers during his acceptance speech. He has thanked God for the protection in all their races.

The Antons are backed by Mark Young Racing-Cars Unlimited, Obengers Racing, Motul, Yokohama-Advan, Alpinestars, JSD Autosport, Mohspeed, Radical Philippines, Parts Pro, Special Stage, MRD performance and MPturbo. – Harley F. Palangchao