July 21, 2024

Three police personnel of the Lanao del Sur Police Provincial Office (LDS PPO) received last month at the Philippine National Police headquarters in Camp Crame, Quezon City the prestigious Medalya ng Kagitingan award from PNP Chief Gen. Rodolfo S. Azurin Jr. during the flag raising ceremony and awarding of PNP personnel with significant accomplishments. 

Azurin and Armed Forces of the Philippines Chief of Staff Gen. Andres C. Centino, who was guest of honor and speaker, commended the awardees, namely Col. Robert S. Daculan, provincial director of the Lanao del Sur PPO who hails from Benguet, along with Lt/Col. Christopher O. Adiong and Cpl. Arafat B. Unte.

Daculan and his men were called to Camp Crame to receive their awards for arresting the suspects in the ambush of Lanao del Sur Gov. Mamintal Adiong, Jr. at Delimbayan, Maguing on Feb. 17.

While on his way to Wao town in Lanao del Sur, unidentified gunmen ambushed the convoy of Adiong. The governor, along with two others, was wounded but four of his security escorts died in the ambush.

Arrest warrants for four counts of murder, three counts of frustrated murder, and multiple attempted murder were successfully served by Daculan and his team against the suspects.

Azurin cited them for “having gone above and beyond the call of duty to serve and protect the entire province,” with Daculan directly supervising the operation in pursuing the suspects.

The suspects, who were arrested on March 10 at Kalilangan, Bukidnon, were identified as Palawan Salem Macalbo, who had several standing warrants for murder and frustrated murder; Nagac Dimatingkal Baratomo, and Amirodin Dimatingcal Mandoc. – Press release