February 7, 2023

The next president of Benguet State University must be a visionary to effectively lead one of the country’s premiere state universities, according to Agriculture Sec. William Dar.

Dar, one of the distinguished alumni of BSU, added the next president must steer the university into its bright future.

“A president is always a leader, who has a vision and one who can innovate, who has some foresight at hindi iyong conventional. Hindi iyong ‘pwede na ito.’ He has to challenge himself and the whole university,” Dar said during his recent visit to the province. 

Dar has challenged the next BSU president that as a trailblazer, he or she must put up the needed programs of the university that will fit their vision.

“Again, it’s trailblazing for the future. You have to create the future, not to only catch up with the future,” he said.

He cited the much-needed crop programming in the province could be one of the programs of the next president, which can help solve oversupply of vegetables in the province.

Dar earned his Bachelor’s degree and Master’s at BSU (then called Mountain State Agricultural College) where he was employed as a faculty member until he was designated as vice president for Research and Extension and ventured into higher leadership roles outside the university.

Five candidates are vying for the eighth BSU president, namely Felipe Comila, Maria Luz Fang-asan, Joel Lubrica, Jimmy Fong, and Serafin Ngohayon.

The candidates recently presented their vision and mission for the university during a public presentation and forum at the university gym.

Three of the candidates come from BSU: Comila, who is the chair of the Board of Directors; Fang-asan, who is the director for Planning and Development; and Lubrica, who is the director of Office of Student Services.

Fong is the dean of College of Arts and Communication of the University of the Philippines Baguio and Ngohayon is the former president of Ifugao State University. 

The search committee is deliberating on the qualifications of the candidates. – Ofelia C. Empian