December 2, 2023

Baguio City’s pride Elizabeth Dangadang has emerged as champion in the long-distance female category of the Philippine Trail Running Association National Championships in Bontoc, Mountain Province on Feb. 26.

Dangadang finished the grueling 42-kilometer trail in seven hours and 30 minutes, and placed eighth in the overall roster of winners while Antique’s Larry Apolinario ruled the male side with a 5:47:09 time.

BONTOC MARATHON QUEEN — Rising ultra-trail runner Elizabeth Dangadang emerged as champion in the female category of the 42-kilometer Bontoc Marathon held in Bontoc, Mountain Province on Feb. 26. The event was organized by the Philippine Trail Running Association in cooperation with the municipal government under Mayor Jerome Tudlong and other partners from the government and private sectors. — Bontoc PIO photo

Completing the women’s top three were Aggy Sabanel-Marte at 8:07:03 and Cecille Wael at 8:26:22. 

With only a two-minute interval, 2022 Asia Trail Master champion Arnie Macaneras placed second in the male side followed by Jayson Zonio.     

Itogon, Benguet’s Gretchen Felipe topped the 25-kilometer female side at 4:49:55 followed by Angelie Cabalo at 4:59:12, as former marathon queen turned trail running coach Christabel Martes of La Trinidad, Benguet placed third at 5:07:00.

The male side of the 25-km. elite was topped by Kristian Joergensen of Denmark at 3:22:19 followed by Randolf Gonzales at 3:36:43 and Romnick Tongkaling at 3:38:43.

Meanwhile, the 42-km. trail top three winners were 2022 Jingle Balls Backyard Ultra champion Rhys Yvan Dane Pawid, Jones Mortega, and James Tellias.

Michella Aranada topped the female side of the same category followed by two runners named only by their first names Jinky and Marline. 

Godfrey Farnican of Bontoc led the 25-km. trail runners followed by Ypril Marc Manzano and Bastien Eydan while the female side was ruled by Xayd Gaurana, Florence Merle and Iya Gozum.

The 12-km. was led by Vinson Ramos of Baguio City followed by Bontoc’s Crispin Faryangan and Jephunneh Anengyao.

The Bontoc Mountain Run also screened the athletes who will join the National Development Team for trail running under Philtra. – Ofelia C. Empian