December 5, 2022

Government offices in the city and government-run learning institutions will be provided with free Internet connection.
Department of Information and Communications Technology Executive Director Edward Padre said provision of free Internet connection to government facilities and public schools will be realized through the National Broadband Program (NBP).
The NBP is the DICT’s blueprint in deploying broadband technologies to close the digital divide and ensure Filipinos have access to affordable and quality broadband services.
Padre said in 2020, DICT partnered with the Bases Conversion and Development Authority for the procurement of NBP phase 1 project, which will be completed towards the end of 2021. The contract amount is P1.025 billion.
Baguio City and La Trinidad are among the 25 priority growth areas for the NBP phase 1.
There is a government network where the bandwidth is distributed to 62 offices and facilities throughout the city and parts of La Trinidad.
These are the Benguet Electric Cooperative, Baguio City Hall, Baguio City Police Office, Happy Hallow National High School, Happy Hallow Elementary School, Happy Hallow barangay hall, and BCDA.
Also connected to the network are the Pagasa radar station, Benguet State University, Pagasa Agromet, La Trinidad Municipal Hall, La Trinidad municipal police station, Benguet General Hospital, Department of Science and Technology, Police Regional Office-Cordillera, Benguet Capitol, Regional Trial Court, Provincial Warden’s Office, and DICT LC1.
The Philippine Military Academy, DZEQ, Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board, Land Transportation Office, National Telecommunications Commission, Roxas ES, Community Environment and Natural Resources Office, Environment Management Bureau, Department of Environment and Natural Resources, PTV, PhilHealth, Teachers’ Camp, and National Police Commission are also among the offices where the bandwidth is distributed.
The other government agencies are National Economic Development Authority, Housing Land Use and Regulatory Board, departments of Labor and Employment, Public Works and Highways, DPWH-TC, Interior and Local Government, Baguio Water District, Pagasa, Quezon ES, Baguio City School of Arts and Trades, Department of Education-Baguio, SPED Center, Bureau of Immigration, Civil Service Commission, National Bureau of Investigation, Department of Social Welfare and Development, Bureau of Internal Revenue, Mabini ES, Department of Transportation, DICT-Benguet, University of the Philippines-Baguio, Government Service Insurance System, Baguio General Hospital, departments of Health and Tourism, Baguio City HS, Comelec, Department of Science and Technology, Social Security System, and Mines and Geosciences Bureau. – Jordan G. Habbiling