March 27, 2023

The family of Justice Ramon Ozaeta, the first Filipino president of the Baguio Country Club, has announced its plan to set up a foundation that aims to raise funds for the scholarship of qualified children of caddies of BCC.

The plan was announced by Jose Roman Ozaeta, BCC’s golf and sports committee chairman, following the success of the 1st Justice Ozaeta Cup on weekend, in honor of the great old man, who had  “buried imperialism” at BCC.

JUSTICE OZAETA CUP WINNERS — Winners in the members and guest divisions of the 1st Justice Ozaeta Cup presented their trophies during awards night at the Baguio Country Club. The heirs of former Supreme Court Justice Roman Ozaeta,who became the first Filipino president of BCC, announced plans to set up a foundation to raise funds for the scholarship of children of caddies at the only five-star mountain resort facility. — Harley Palangchao

The younger Ozaeta also graced the awarding of the winners in the tournament led by Lyndon Julian who fired 50 Molave points to emerge the members men’s class A champion followed by Ison Angheng and Jay Co with 48 apiece.

Richard Difuntorum topped the members men’s B with 45 followed by Apayao Gov. Elias Bulut, Jr. with 42 and Christian Bautista with 41.

Gabby Bautista ruled the members men’s C with 40 points, edging out Budz Royeca and John Ray Libiran, who scored 36 and 34 in that order.

Nida Whybrow has emerged the best female golfer that day, as she topped the members ladies A with 34 followed by Nora Sy with 33 and Vivian Chua with 30.

Beth Patterson had 33 to rule the members ladies B and she was trailed by Wells Gala with 28 and Beth Dixon with 23.

Retired police general Ed Basbas topped the members seniors A with 41, as he won by countback over Ramon Aldana, who also had 41 with Benito Ang placing third with 40.

The veteran Aldana stole the thunder from all players when he aced the seventh hole with a Honma 11-iron and a Srixon ball from 110 yards.

Dj Javier, meanwhile, won the members seniors B with 43 points followed by Ed Tom with 40, and Mariano Ang with 37.

Christian Villareal was the best guest player as he topped the men’s A in the guest division with 52 points followed Rante Bambao with 50, and Mike Senato with 48.

Roland Gundran won the guest B with 46 followed by John Felix with 43 and Aries Datuin with 42.

Catalino Geston, Jr. won the guest C with 39 followed by Dinky Del-ong with 36, and Lino Cugasi with 34. – Harley F. Palangchao