September 30, 2023

Use of life vests when riding boats at Burnham Lake is now a must.
In Ordinance 51 s. 2023, operators and passengers are required to wear a life vest before riding the boats for hire at Burnham Park Lake. Any operator or passenger who refuses to wear a life vest will not be allowed to board the watercraft. The passengers shall wear a life vest throughout the ride. The operator shall ensure that a life vest is worn by all passengers, including himself before embarking.
The owner or manager of the boats to be used shall be responsible in providing life vests for all passengers of the watercrafts and shall ensure that there is sufficient number of life vests for each rider.
The Public Order and Safety Division and the City Environment and Parks Management Office are authorized to apprehend violators.
Fines and penalties imposed to concessionaire violators for first offense is P1,000 and a warning; second offense is P1,500and impoundment/docking of the watercraft until the penalty has been paid; and third offense is P2,500, revocation of license, and disqualification as a watercraft concessionaire.
Watercraft operators who violate the ordinance will be fined P1,000 and a warning on first offense; P1,500 and can only resume as operator after the watercraft is allowed to embark on second offense; and P2,500 and be barred as operator of any watercraft concessionaire on third offense.
The mayor may allow the conversion of the penalties to community service.
The city council has approved Resolution 328, s. 2023 for the acceptance of a 932 square meter road lot identified as Lot 2 at Res. Sec. “J”, Sto. Tomas Central barangay for a farm to market road.
The costs of segregating and registering the donated lot in the name of the City of Baguio shall be borne by the owners of the donor.
As per technical evaluation and report from the Survey and Inspection Division of the City Engineering Office, the subject lot was earlier donated to the Sto. Tomas School area barangay with approved plan by the Department of Environment and Natural Resources, is not yet registered for titling to the Registry of Deeds Office.
Donors are Illuminada Ong Huang 230-sq.m; Patrick Umayat 462-sq.m.; Norma Simsim et. al 227-sq.m.; and the Catholic Vicar Apostolic of Baguio is 13-sq.m. for a total of 932-sq.m.
The lot is an existing dirt road measuring 3.00 to 4.00 meters wide with a length of approximately 180 meters. It is connected to the concrete farm to market road constructed by the Department of Public Works and Highways leading to Sto. Tomas Central Road. It is being used by the farmers and residents in the area and will be connected to an ongoing road development and a proposed road towards Adiwang Road.
The city council commended the Archers Dance Troupe and the Koolitz Dance Crewfor representing Baguio City and bagging a gold and silver medals, respectively, in the 2023 Philippine Hip Hop Dance Championship – Junior Division held on May 27 and 28 at the Manila Metropolitan Theater.
The event is recognized by the Philippine Sports Commission, the Cultural Center of the Philippines, and the National Commission on Culture and the Arts as a creative and cultural expression among the youth through dance performances.
Both groups are composed of elementary students from Baguio Central School and guided by Baguio City-based coaches, trainers and advisers.
The gold medalist Archers is composed of Samantha Joy Corpuz, Zaharra Khlaire Salazar, Zoe Alexie Monique Buyao, Zurie Arabella Pagteilan, Xhianti Xia Sino Cruz, Dominique Alaine Perez, Anndrew Kreione Cruz, and Kate Dennishareign
Silver medalists Koolitz is composed of Jefferson Andres, Jelieon Tan, Caliya Snow Adangla, Freizhie Khloe Castillo, Princess Jamel Uden, Jhann Rhaynn Garcia, and Leira Mae Racal.
Coaches – Andrew Tom Cruz and Louie Vilches Calimlim; Advisers – Conrado Mapili, Jr. and Frank Lloyd De Guzman; and overall chairman – Wreigh Jann Tamayo.
In Resolution 329, s. 2023 the Baguio City athletes were commended for winning in the New Face of the Year National Taekwondo Championship last May 20 and 21 at the Ninoy Aquino Stadium in Malate, Manila.
The “New Face of the Year National Taekwondo Championship” is an event supported by the Philippine Olympic Committee and the Philippine Sports Commission where the Philippine Taekwondo Association searches for the brightest young talents in the country.
Gold medalists in sparring are Izech Brian Edwin, Charina Therese Chumawin, Hailey Skye Balad, Fances Hollie Nabejet, Stephen Percy Buasen Alexa Rea Ramos, Jhazzy Drei Gopeng, Zacharian Kane Manaloto, Arthur Aludos Jr., Ady Rye Alquiza, Andrew Vincent Alexander Montalbo, Elijah Rae Ramos, Vince Harley Lonogan, Rain Ramon, Aithan Raphael Ogoy, and Jheizler Angelo Fernandez; in individual poomsae are Hailey Skye Balad, Winter Niamh Scarlet Abuan, Charina Therese Chumawin, Khia Mae Cortez, and Zeick Andrei Tacay.
Silver medalists in individual poomsae are Fances Hollie Nabejet, Raileigh Misha Noble, Arthur Aludos Jr., Carl Benz Carag, Zacharian Kane Manaloto, and Zachary Mitchel Galang; in sparring – Jaiden Mars Tauli, Ryan Clifton Nabejet, Zachary Mitchel Galang, and Lei Ramon.
Bronze medalists in individual poomsae are Alexa Rae Ramos, Sean Vincent Michael Lee, Irish Nychole Buasen, Bernice Ria Athaleya Pascua, Maegan Zaniel Ogoy, Kurt Cortez; in sparring are Carl Benz Carag, Cyron Chad Chumawin, Jethro Gopeng, and Suarez Marlowe Macalino.
The medalists are entitled to incentives pursuant to Ordinance 47, s. 2021, as amended by Ordinance 25, s. 2022.