July 19, 2024

The annual Mauricio G. Domogan Cup has donated a total of P610,000 cash assistance to various civic and other cause-oriented groups following its successful staging at Camp John Hay on weekend.

Bulk of the proceeds amounting to P300,000 has been set aside as educational assistance to poor but deserving students in Baguio while P100,000 will be for indigent patients, also in the city.

MGD CUP 2022 WINNER — This year’s Mauricio G. Domogan Cup was a sucess with Dai Tsuchiya becoming the overall champion when he fired three-under par 68 at Camp John Hay on weekend. The tournament saw the distribution of more than P600,000 for various beneficiaries, including funds for a scholarship program. — Harley Palangchao

The Philippine Red Cross Baguio chapter also received P50,000, while the Brotherhood of St. Andrews of the Cathedral of the Resurrection got P30,000.

Caddies of CJH, Baguio Country Club, and Pinewoods Golf & Country Club will also receive P90,000 assistance.

The Baguio Correspondents and Broadcasters Club also received P20,000 and the Baguio City Host and Everlasting Lions Clubs will get P10,000 each.

Seasoned golfer Dai Tsuchiya fired three-under par 68 at Camp John Hay to become the overall champion in the 2022 Mauricio G. Domogan Cup that raised funds for civic projects.

Tsuchiya, the golfing pride of Pines Kumpadres Golf Club, made sure he has no pick-up in any of the 18 holes during the tournament that used the PAL point plus the handicap index in the scoring system.

Another PKGC golfer in George Punasen topped the men’s class A with 45 points followed by Rante Bambao with 43 and Hong Chang Bum with 41.

Richard Solang has emerged the class B champion with 45 points followed by Chaharo Galeng, also with 45, and Elvis Balayan with 43.

The young Steven Gengos fired 49 points to win the class C followed by up and coming golfer Hazy Mirando, also with 49, and Roger Conde with 44.

Korean Shin Sun Young won the ladies division with 41 points, as she won via countback (or with better score in the last nine holes) over Kim Ju Hee, who also scored 41.

Angela Balayan, meanwhile, placed second runner-up in the ladies division with 40 points.

Dennis Dinamling won in the special division with a net of 65 followed by Ed Dait and Rey Alemania, both with 67.

Young businessman Ron Cadiogan won the nearest to the pin special award while Gengos won the most accurate drive.

Domogan, in his speech, thanked all the sponsors, patrons, and players for encouraging him to continue the MGD Cup, which has been reaching out to various beneficiaries throughout the years.

The former mayor and lawmaker said he is grateful for the support the event has received even if he is no longer in public service. – Harley F. Palangchao