July 19, 2024

Four towns in Mountain Province have listed more than 30 aspirants for the eight-member council seat in the 2022 elections.

The most number of council aspirants are in Sadanga with 43, Paracelis has 34, Bontoc with 33, and Bauko with 32.

In Baguio City, the Commission on Elections listed 38 aspirants for the 12-member city council.

Meanwhile, six is the most number for those running for congressional, gubernatorial, and mayoral positions in the Cordillera.

Baguio has six congressional aspirants while Benguet has six bets for governor and Itogon, Benguet has six candidates for mayor. 

In Langiden, Abra, it will be a walk in the park for incumbent Mayor Secel Palecpec and Vice Mayor Mary Bueno, who are seeking reelection without opponents, including all the eight incumbent councilors.

Also unchallenged in Abra are Luba Mayor Rosalina Biscarra and Vice Mayor Casimiro Molina; San Isidro Mayor Elmerante Pacsa and Vice Mayor Elixer Pacsa; Villaviciosa Mayor Jose Lagen Jr., and his daughter Vice Mayor Marjorie Lagen; vice mayors Emmanuel Eleazar Eduarte of Tayum and Geraldine Balbuena of Peñarrubia.   

Also unopposed is former Tineg mayor Edwin Crisologo Jr., who wants to become chief executive anew of the remotest town in Abra. His wife, Corinthia, is the incumbent mayor, who will run for vice mayor unopposed.

Siblings Apayao Rep. Elias Bulut Jr. and Gov. Eleanor Begtang are the only ones unchallenged in the higher elective positions in the province, as they seek to swap positions in next year’s polls.

Unopposed in the mayoralty and vice mayoralty positions in Apayao are Calanasan Vice Mayor Shamir Bulut swapping post with Mayor Martin Lucero Lawat.

Those unopposed are Luna Mayor Josephine Bangsil and Vice Mayor Manolito Bullaoit and Sta. Marcela Mayor Evelyn Martinez and Vice Mayor Rolly Guiang.

In Benguet, only Kibungan Mayor Cesar Molitas is unopposed among the 13 incumbent mayors while vice mayors Angelito Galao, Sr. of Atok, Maria Carantes of Tuba, and Juan Esnara of Tublay are also unopposed.

In Ifugao, Mayoyao Mayor Jimmy Padchanan Jr. and Vice Mayor Rudy Chilagan Jr. are also unopposed together with Kiangan Mayor Raldis Bulayungan and Vice Mayor Michelle Baguilat.

In Mountain Province, the unopposed mayors Clark Ngaya of Barlig and Constito Masweng of Tadian while Bontoc Vice Mayor Eusebio Kabluyen is also unchallenged in his reelection bid.

 Tadian Councilor George Bisen, Jr. who is vying for vice mayoralty post is also unopposed. – Ofelia C. Empian