September 26, 2023
CORDILLERA PMA CADETS SHINE — Six members of the Philippine Military Academy Madasigon Class of 2023 from the Cordillera led by topnotchers, Cadets First Class Rojan Macario, top six (3rd from left) Kimberly Kate Lawingan, top eight (4th from L) and Arla Krish Bahingawan, top 10 (2nd from L) pose during the press presentation of the cream of the crop of the graduating class. The other awardees are (from L) Jeuel Ariel Wangwang, Department of Information Technology plaque; Ma. Ysabelle Verzosa, cum laude; and John Rozz Oggang, Athletic Saber. The class graduation is tentatively set May 21 with President Ferdinand Marcos, Jr. as guest of honor and speaker. — Ofelia Empian

The batch of cadets who spent most of their academic life within the confines of the Philippine Military Academy due to the Covid-19 will graduate this May 21.
The Mandirigmang may dangal, simbolo ng galing at pagbangon (Madasigon) Class of 2023 composed of 311 cadets, is the first batch, which will hold graduation rites sans numerous health protocols compared to the previous years where the number of guests were limited and were required to submit an RT-PCR test.
This year, PMA will still implement public health standards but no longer as stringent as in the past.
This year’s graduation will also be the first time President Ferdinand Marcos, Jr. will attend as commander in chief of the Armed Forces of the Philippines.
However, the PMA said during the presentation of the top performing cadets of Madasigon Class that the Office of the President is yet to confirm the President’s attendance.
Lipa City, Batangas native Cadet First Class (1CL) Warren Leonor, who will graduate cum laude, will join the Philippine Air Force after graduation.
As the top student, Leonor will be awarded the Presidential saber, Australian Defense Best overall, Performance award, Academic Group award, Social Sciences plaque, Air Force professional courses plaque, General Antonio Luna award, Spanish Armed Forces award, PAF saber, National Security Studies plaque, Management plaque, Tactics Group award, Sports and Physical Development Unit plaque, and Jusmag (Joint US Military Assistance Group) plaque.
Others in the top 10 are Edmundo Logronio of Manito, Albay (second); Nicole Sarmiento of Butuan City, Agusan del Norte (third), Zhen Zhen Cayton of Dupax del Norte, Nueva Vizcaya (fourth); Rez Mark Cantor of Bugallon, Pangasinan (fifth), Rojan Macario of Talon-Talon, Zamboanga City (sixth); Samuel Banac of Quezon City (seventh); Kimberly Kate Lawingan of Sadanga, Mountain Province (eighth); Rico Jay Fernandez of Molave, Zamboanga del Sur (ninth); and Arla Krish Bahingawan of Kiangan, Ifugao.
Other top cadets who will receive awards are John Rozz Oggang of Tinglayan, Kalinga and Alliyah Mae Lopinac of Hermosa, Bataan who are the Athletic Saber awardees for the male and female categories; Jeuel Ariel Wangwang of Bontoc, Mountain Province (Department of Information Technology plaque); Carlo Andrei Valencia of Carmona, Cavite (Natural Sciences plaque); Jasper Balunso (Navy courses professional plaque); John Cris Galusmo (Journalism awardee); and John Troy Albano (Chief of Staff saber).
Other cadets who will graduate as cum laude are Ma. Ysabelle Verzosa of Baguio City; Deniel Louie Castor of Calindog, Iloilo; JL Escauriasa of Pagadian City, Zamboanga del Sur; Alvin Uday of Amulung, Cagayan; Richter James Escobia of Tacurong City, Sultan Kudarat; Rhyll Romerosa of Iligan City, Lanao del Norte; and Henry Cordova of Pikit, North Cotabato. – Rimaliza A. Opiña