September 26, 2023

Maynard Pecson and Jenny-Vi Fontanilla topped the 2ndAmbuklao Mountain Bike Challenge in Itogon, Benguet on weekend.

Pecson, who consistently ruled mountain bike challenges he joined this year, led the open category in the event also dubbed as “First Bike for Hope.”

He also championed the first staging of the Ambuklao MTB Challenge last March 27 and the Tublay Mountain Bike ITT Challenge last Jan. 30.

Trailing him were Daniel Pascual, John Paul Laureta, Albert Ong, and Ruden Valdez Galande.

On the distaff side, Fontanilla led the open category that started at the Binga dam main gate and ended at Mason arc view deck along Ambuklao Road.

Trailing her were Marissa Cayowet, Eisset Liwag, Renalyn Malong, and Marychiel Morales.

Jhaylord Sivlen topped the16 to 19 years old category followed by Gio Raphael Diego, Miguel Serrano, Raymark Polino, and Harold Quiros.

Arzyvie Velasco won the 20 to 29 years old category followed by Rafael San Luiz, Marc Anthony Rillorta, Dennis Pelerio, and Jemart Apa-an while Boots Miranda ruled the 30 to 39 years old and trailed by Angpeo, Robeno Javier, Gideon Rex Mayet-an, and Joseph Velo.

Marlon Valdez led the 40 to 49 years old followed by Ruben Eclipse, Allan Walang, Celestino Tobias, and Gique Kokoy while Danny Aquino led the 50 to 59 years old followed by Robert Fontanilla, Noel Pelecano, Martes Leo, and Rene Waje.

Borromeo Palabay was the winner in the 60 to 64 years old category followed by Ronald Laranang, Jonathan Fontanilla, Bobot Benitez, Danny Noriesta, and Edward Pudlao.

The race featured 200 riders and will benefit one of the programs of the Department of Education-Cordillera, the Salaknib Tan Namnama, an Ibaloy phrase meaning saving and giving hope. – Ofelia C. Empian