December 5, 2023

Baguio golfers Christian Villareal and Demma Dulnuan emerged the best golfers among 122 golfers who saw action in the two-day Flower Tee 2023 tournament at the Baguio Country Club on weekend.

Villareal fired a three-over for a gross of 64 to become the overall champion while Dulnuan had 46 Molave points to emerge as champion in the ladies A.

FLOWER TEE WINNERS — The winners in the Flower Tee golf tournament that drew more than 120 players led by overall champion Christian Villareal and ladies A champion Demma Dulnuan present their trophies during awards night at the Baguio Country Club on weekend. — Harley Palangchao

Jean Campos had 35 points while Beth Petterson had 33 points to place second and third in the ladies A.

Former Pugo, La Union mayor Precy Martin earned 27 points to win as ladies B champion followed by Mel Donato and Mavic Tan with 27 and 26 points. Martin won via lower handicap.

David Roach topped the men’s A with 48 points followed by police general Mafy Bazar and Carl Rabanes with 47 apiece.

Three players had identical 40 points with identical handicap of 14 but Roly Tangalin emerged as champion by virtue of countback with Nicholo Tabora and Alex Mendoza placing second and third.

Tangalin also won the longest drive award after his ball reached 305 yards at hole three.

Kai Moguet had 34 to win the men’s C championship trophy followed by Peter Zagala and Apayao Gov. Elias Bulut, Jr. with 34 and 33 points in that order.

Retired police general Ed Basbas won the seniors A with 47 followed by Juanito Butche and Ramon Aldana with 46 and 45 points, respectively.

Bong Tabora topped the seniors B with 37 followed by Matt Luspian and Michael Aldana with 37 and 36 in that order.

Joel Angday won the nearest to the pin at seven feet to the hole at hole one while Bryan Dugay won the most accurate drive at hole eight.

The tournament was part of the Panagbenga 2023 celebration. – Harley F. Palangchao