April 21, 2024

The College of Health Sciences of Ifugao State University hosted the 17th Regional Student Nurses Congress on March 22 at the Luis Hora Gymnasium, Lamut Campus.

The event brought together nurses, healthcare professionals, and nursing students from 14 higher education institutions belonging to the Cordillera Association of Nursing Deans (CAND).

Bannering the theme “University in diversity: Navigating and advancing transcultural nursing for health equity,” the congress served as a platform to address the pressing need for inclusivity and cultural sensitivity in healthcare delivery. Organized annually by the CAND, this year marked the first time IFSU hosted the event in the region.

IFSU President Dr. Eva Marie Codamon-Dugyon, in her welcome remarks, acknowledged the important role of nurses and healthcare professionals in bridging cultural divides to ensure universal access to quality healthcare. She emphasized the congress’ alignment with the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), particularly SDG 3 on good health and well-being, SDG 4 on quality education, and SDG 16 on peace, justice, and strong institutions. She further emphasized the importance of collaboration, communication, and respect in building a more equitable healthcare system.

The event featured Dr. Florence C. Cawaon, former member of the Philippine Regulatory Board of Nursing, and Dr. Norenia T. Dao-ayen, former associate       dean of Saint Louis University.

Cawaon led the session on cultural competence and complexities of transcultural nursing, while Dao-ayen discussed perspectives on health equity. Both speakers shed light on strategies to ensure fair and just healthcare access. Open forum sessions followed each presentation.

The 14 member institutions of the CAND are Abra Valley Colleges, Baguio Central University, Benguet State University, Cordillera Career and Development College, Divine Word College of Bangued, Easter College Inc., IFSU, Mountain Province State Polytechnic College, Pines City Colleges, SLU, Saint Tonis College, Inc., Star Colleges, Inc., University of Baguio, and University of the Cordilleras. – Elvira M. Binohlan