December 5, 2022

Two cadets first class (1CL) from the Cordillera made it in the top 10 of the 164-strong members of Philippine Military Academy “Masaligan” Class of 2021.

Another one from the region is also one of the six who will receive special awards during their graduation tomorrow, May 10.

In top three is 22-year-old 1CL Valerie Mae Dicang of La Trinidad, Benguet and in top nine is 23-year-old 1CL Michael Angelo Madriaga of Tabuk City, Kalinga.

Dicang, who was a Radiologic Technology student of Saint Louis University when she took and passed the PMA entrance examination, will receive the Secretary of National Defense Saber.

Apart from the highest honors, five from the top 10 graduates will receive graduation awards from the highest officials of the land.

The top 10 is led by class valedictorian 1CL Janrey Artus of San Enrique, Negros Occidental followed by 1CL Daryl Brix Colita (salutatorian) of Malalag, Davao del Sur; 1CL Dicang; 1CL Jan Hernan Perez of Muntinlupa City; 1CL Christine Joyce Andog of Cabanatuan City; Nueva Ecija, 1CL Feljoy Ending of Oroquieta City Misamis Occidental; 1CL Harold Mars Sastado of Batangas City, Batangas; 1CL Pamela Calleja of Malinao, Albay; 1CL Madriaga; and 1CL Shirly Fatima Lim of Tacloban City.

Awards to be conferred on Artus are Presidential Saber, Philippine Navy Saber, Australian Defence Award, Spanish Armed Forces Award, General Antonio Luna Award, Academic Group Award, Jusmag Award, Humanities plaque, Department of Leadership plaque, Mathematics plaque, Computing and Information Sciences plaque, Management plaque, Natural Science plaque, Social Sciences plaque, and Navy Professional plaque.

For class salutatorian Colita, his awards are Vice Presidential Saber, Australian Defense Saber, Philippine Army Saber, and Army Professional plaque.

Perez will receive the Chief of Staff Saber, Australian Defence Award, Philippine Air Force Saber, and Air Force Professional plaque.

Lim will receive the Association of Generals and Flag Officers Award and Superintendent’s Saber.

Other recipients of the special awards are 1CL Annie Chen (Journalism Award as editor in chief of Corps Publications), Mae Pearl Agustin (Military Justice Award), 1CL Joel Bacani (Sports and Physical Development Plaque Award), and 1CL Kevin Babaran (Aguinaldo Saber Award).

Of the 164 members of the class, 82 will join the Army, 46 Navy, and 36 Air Force. – Rimaliza A. Opiña