February 26, 2024

BANGUED, Abra – Seven towns in the province recently received P1.8 million subsidy to implement development projects that will benefit communities.

Bucay, Danglas, Dolores, La Paz, Pennarubia, San Juan, and Tayum each received incentive funds for having been conferred with the Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG) last year.

Department of the Interior and Local Government Cordillera Director Araceli San Jose said the region has a total of 23 SGLG awardees for 2023 including the seven Abra towns. Winning local government units are granted subsidy at P4M for provinces, P2.3M for cities, and P1.8M for municipalities.

“We can say that more LGUs are bent on shaping up and forging a renewed brand of improved standards of governance in their respective localities. We are optimistic that we can maintain this number and even surpass it in 2024,” San Jose said.

During the awarding ceremony, San Jose also urged the recipient LGUs to use the subsidy for high-impact projects to address priority needs and benefit communities.

These projects may include disaster risk reduction and management, education, tourism that will improve access to government services and accelerate development in their localities. 

“Think about the most vulnerable sectors of your community; ponder about their most pressing needs and consider what will benefit your LGU the most in terms of boosting industries and human productivity,” San Jose said.

Initially, the SGLG incentive fund awardees in Abra identified projects that include construction of tourism facilities, improvement of public safety, disaster preparedness, and social services, among others.

Bucay will use their subsidy for the construction of South Poblacion riverwall; Dolores will use the money for the construction of a Bahay Pag-asa or juvenile rehabilitation center; San Juan identified construction of their pasalubong center; and Tayum proposed the construction and installation of solar-powered lighting system for the safety of communities.

Danglas, La Paz, and Peñarrubia are set to purchase rescue and service vehicles to enhance delivery of emergency response and social services.

Other SGLG incentive fund awardees in the region  that submitted projects using the SGLG incentives are Mountain Province; Tabuk City; Conner, Luna, Pudtol, and Santa Marcela in Apayao; Asipulo, Kiangan, and Lagawe in Ifugao; Pasil and Rizal in Kalinga; and Bauko, Besao, Bontoc Sabangan, and Tadian in Mountain Province.

The SGLG award is given by the DILG to local government units for delivering public service and gives recognition to remarkable local government performance in the different governance areas. – Jam Joie Malingan