June 21, 2024

8TH DAP-AY GOLF WINNERS — The winners in the 8th Dap-ay Golf Tournament of Baguio Country Club led by Romy Aquino and Rhanz Balay-odao presented their trophies during awards night on weekend following a 36-hole competition on April 12 to 13. — Contributed photo

Seasoned golfer Romy Aquino and up and coming golfer Rhanz Balay-odao have emerged as the overall champion in the 8th Dap-ay Golf Tournament at Baguio Country Club on April 12 to 13.Aquino and Balay-odao carded 114 Molave points during the 36-hole member-guest tournament that adopted the scramble format on day one and the best ball on day two.

The father and son tandem of Danny and Luigi Paolo Wong won in division 1 with 110 points followed by the pair of Clifford Tandoc and Leo Corpuz with 100 points and Jolly Gomez and Bernand Chang with 99 points.

Mar Bustos and Theody Pascual carded 110 points to win in division 2 followed by Eddie Fianza and Criket Villareal with 107 and the pair of Itong Tan and Raffy Flores with 103 points.

The division 3 championship trophy went to the duo of Marc Ervin Tio and Steve Tycangco after collecting 110 points followed by Sevie Oliva and Doy Mercado with 107 points and John Ray Libiran and Karlo Denny Ilano with 105 points.

Gab Bautista paired with Pat Villanueva topped division 4 with 102 points followed by Budz Royeca and Ariz Datuin with 100 points and Mario Bautista and Crizel Tablac with 99 points.

The annual member-guest event is one of the sought-after tournaments in the locality as some of the pairs are among the competitive players north of Manila. — Harley F. Palangchao