May 24, 2024
PUBLIC SERVANTS HONORED — The former mayors of Baguio from 1960 to 2019 were honored during the 114th Charter Day anniversary of Baguio on Sept. 1. Those honored post humously were Luis L. Lardizabal, Norberto F. de Guzman, Ernesto H. Bueno, Francisco A. Paraan, Jaime R. Bugnosen, and Braulio Yaranon. Former mayors Bernardo Vergara; Reinaldo Bautista, Jr.; and Mauricio Domogan were also honored. — Redjie Cawis

The city government has recognized the former mayors who have helped Baguio rise from its humble beginnings to its towering achievements today.

A service award was presented to the first batch of former mayors from 1960 to 2019 as part of the city’s 114th Charter Day celebration on Sept. 1 at the Baguio Convention and Cultural Center.

They are being recognized for having contributed to Baguio’s “undeniable glow and undisputed reputation that no other cities can equal, with its rich culture and creativity manifested by its designation as one of the Unesco Creative Cities that have captivated the hearts of many.

These numerous feats of Baguio are the products of the hard work, dedication and passion of its current and former leaders.”

The awardees are the late mayors Luis L. Lardizabal, who served from 1960 to 1963 and 1968 to 1979. His grandson Col. Francis Lardizabal received the award on his behalf;

Norberto F. de Guzman, who served the city from 1964 to 1967. His award was received by his grandson Eulogio Clarence Martin de Guzman III;

Ernesto H. Bueno who was mayor from 1979 to 1986. He was represented by his youngest son Cookie Bueno;

Francisco A. Paraan who served from 1986 to 1988. His award was received by his sons Dr. Ronaldo and Ro-dolfo Paraan; and

Jaime R. Bugno-sen, who served from 1989 to 1992 and was represented by his son Cyan Bugnosen, grandson Michael Bugnosen, and Andrea Joy Bugnosen.

Also awarded were former mayor Mauricio G. Domogan, who served from 1992 to 2001 and from 2010 to 2019 and Bernardo M. Vergara, who served from 2001 to 2004.

The late mayor Braulio D. Yaranon, who served from 2004 to 2007 was also honored. His award was received by his daughter City Councilor Mylen Yaranon.

Another awardee was Reinaldo A. Bautista Jr., who served from 2007 to 2010.

The service recognition award was presented to the former mayors “in grateful recognition of his committed service as local chief executive that greatly contributed to strengthening the pillars of growth and development for the city of Baguio and its people.”

The same recognition will be given to the second batch of former mayors next year during the city’s 115th charter anniversary. – Hanna C. Lacsamana