June 24, 2024

Baguio City will again host the final stage of the 11th LBC Ronda Pilipinas on March 20 to crown the ultimate winner in the country’s grueling bikefest.
Starting from Sorsogon on March 11, the country’s 104 cyclists from 13 teams went through 10 stages of biking action, after a two-year pandemic absence.  
Paul Rillorta of the Baguio City Sports and Development Office said the bikers will come from Santiago, Isabela and arrive in the city afternoon of March 19. 
The cyclists will ride to Baguio passing through the Ambuklao Road featuring the majestic view of Luzon’s highest mountain, Mount Pulag, en route to the city.
The next day, the stage 10 criterium will then commence as riders go up and down Session Road, which will culminate at the Baguio Convention Center for the awards and cocktails to celebrate the end of the tour.
Rillorta said the city will host the cyclists’ two-day and one-night stay. The winners are gunning for the P3.5 million total purse including P1 million for the champion and P200,000 for the team crown. 
The country’s top tier cyclists from the young and old participated in this year’s staging of the Ronda Pilipinas, which saw action from reigning Ronda king George Oconer and 2019 tit-list Ronald Oranza of Navy Standard Insurance. 
Going head-to-head against team Navy is the Excellent Noodles led by veteran cyclist Santy Barnachea teaming up with two-time LBC Ronda Pilipinas winner Jan Paul Morales.
Other teams seeing action are Philippine Army, Team Nueva Ecija, Dreyna, Eagle Cement, Champ Café, Bike Kings Laguna, Vantage Ilocos Norte, VPharma, Team Quezon Province, Team Ilocos Sur, and Go for Gold. – Ofelia C. Empian