February 29, 2024

A total of 160 shooters from the Philippine National Police and gun enthusiasts participated in the recent Benguet Adivay fun shoot that raised funds for the solar panels of select indigents in far-flung areas of the province.

Benguet Police Provincial Office Director, Col. Damian Olsim said the event is part of the solar “pailaw” project through the help of the Provincial Advisory Group for Police Transformation of Benguet PPO led by Gov. Melchor Diclas. 

SHOOTFEST FOR-A-CAUSE — The recent fun shoot organized by the Benguet Police Provincial Office at Camp Major Dennis Molintas in Buguias will fund the solar lighting projects of the command in far flung areas. The event was graced by Police Regional Office-Cordillera Director B/Gen. Mafy Bazar and Gov. Melchor Diclas. — PRO-Cor photo

Champion in the production category was the 1st Provincial Mobile Force Company (PMFC) team followed by 2nd PMFC and La Trinidad Municipal Police Station. 

La Union PPO Director Col. Lambert Suerte topped the production category followed by Maj. Jab Wanna and M/Sgt. JC Bustarte. 

S/Sgt. Noel Bandao topped the classic category while the standard-lawman category was championed by Dwight Arukod followed by Bannon Kiangan and Prince Marlie Mamogay.

Mar Campos led the standard-civilian category followed by Christian Jadormio and Marvin Ngayawan. 

The production-civilian category saw Davis Lafasni as champion followed by Rhaymond Panhon and Marcial Hambon while the classic-civilian category champion was Melvin Calde followed by Sherwin Gomez and Fred Hinolgat.

Hagabi Bilibli championed the carry optics while Wilbur Fernando and Butch Guminde placed first and second runners-up respectively.

On the ladies’ side, Cpl. Mariefe Dulnuan topped the PNP match production followed by Pat. Mebell Pil-o while the lady civilian category top plum went to Mirriam Puddunan followed by Milaje Bilalay.   

PNP match production champion was S/Sgt. Jiford Sumcad followed by Cpl. Jason Dingcog while Mar Campos topped the senior category with Melvin Calde as first runner-up.

Froman Atochi was the top winner in the executive category while Ingimar Ching championed the steel plate in the civilian category followed by Tony Gayumma.

Leigh Anders Pudunan won the winner tyro category.

Olsim said the event benefited select indigent families mostly in Tublay, Sablan, Itogon and La Trinidad. 

He said 36 police personnel who were trained by the Technical Education and Skills Development Authority to assist in the setting up of the solar panels. – Ofelia C. Empian