April 22, 2024

The tradition of bodybuilding in Benguet continues as a new breed of well-sculpted individuals took center stage in the annual Mr. Adivay bodybuilding competition. 

Provincial Sports  Office coordinator Dean Mark Monang said the yearly event continues to honor the tradition of bodybuilding in the province, which showcases the strength and sculpture of the Igorot physique.

MR. ADIVAY BODYBUILDING CHAMP — Ruben Abuan of Tuba, Benguet is the overall champion besting other well-sculpted individuals in the province during the recently held Mr. Adivay Open Invitational tournament at the Benguet Capitol. The annual event continues the tradition of the province as the source of bodybuilders joining international competitions, showcasing the Igorot’s physique in the international arena. — Contributed photo

Notable personalities who started bodybuilding in the province were the late Nick Domalsin and Orlando Smith, Sr., whose sons are now accomplished bodybuilders themselves – Manila-based Reynold Domalsin and Benguet-based Orlando Smith, Jr.

The best of the best of this year’s Mr. Adivay Open Invitational held recently at the Capitol was topped by Ruben Abuan of Tuba.

Abuan was the best in physique among close to 200 participants of the competition organized by the Exerwild Fitness Center in partnership with the provincial government.

He also topped the lightweight division followed by Sonny Boy Benito, Nover Pogdon, and Aldrin Kurt Douglas.    

Baguio City’s Nover Pogdon topped the physique class one followed by Richard Bautista, Aldrin Kurt Douglas, and Naldrene Clifford Rance.

The physique class two was topped by Arthur Calvin Vargas of Atok followed by Sonny Benito, Genevic Palomar, and Clifton Epi.

Physician Elmer Patrick Mariano of La Trinidad ruled the novice bodybuilding division followed by Ebenezer Villase, Denver Bantiloc, and Raijiv Awichen.

The champion in the flyweight division was Reggie Colting followed by Elmo Bugtong, Ortis Tindaan Jr., and Michael Baño.  

Jones Lao-ay of La Trinidad ruled the bantamweight division followed by Richard Bautista of Gen. Natividad, Nueva Ecija, Marlon Estrada of Manaoag, Pangasinan, and La Trinidad’s Junjun Benito of La Trinidad.

The top winner in the open weight division was Quezon City’s Eljun Camunay followed by Kurt Dupiano of Baguio City, Jeffrey Tiago of La Trinidad, and Jonathan Yang-odan.

On the women’s side, hailed as Ms. Bikini Fitness champion was Pinky Dingsay Sao-an followed by Phoebee Dinulong, Karen Cuyopan, and Cyndi Tumlayen of La Trinidad, and Analyn Caison of Baguio City. 

Judges during the competition were Tublay Mayor Armando Lauro, Alvin John Cajigan, Jerome Layugan, Liza Doc-yogen, and Michael Pano. – Ofelia C. Empian