February 28, 2024

Boy and girl scouts from the city’s elementary and secondary schools will become officials and department heads for a day tomorrow, Oct. 23.

GSP-Baguio executive officer Jennifer Bugtong said the scouts underwent stringent screening procedures at their head offices, with written examinations and interviews, and after being selected were given personality development and leadership trainings.

The scout officials were given orientation on the duties in offices entrusted to them.

Scout Valerie Vaughn Tablac of the University of Baguio Science High School will be the congressman for the day and Scout Mary Grace Lamwas of Irisan National High School will be the mayor for the day.

City Secretary Brenner Bengwayan gave orientation lectures on parliamentary procedures to those holding legislative positions, notably the Scout vice mayor for a day and Scout councilors for a day, who will conduct a session in the afternoon.

Scout Blezz Lozano of Baguio City NHS will be the vice mayor for the day; while the councilors for a day are scouts Ziara Juliana Therese Gamboa from the University of Baguio High School, Anna Nicole Bautista, Axl Alaister Siblag, and Jhoanna Mae Poquiz (BCNHS), Sophia Alessia Mari Valencia of UBSHS, Princess Peralta of Don Bosco High School, Kean Angelo Tictic, Fritzie Nicole Mallari (BCHNS), Danielle Abarientos (UBSHS), Raven Sobremonte of Fort del Pilar NHS, Zoie Zyrille Vesagas, (BCNHS); Justin Cheryll Alcantara (UBHS) Ashanti June Pongod (BCNHS) Yana  Daplian (PCNHS), and Raymund Gabriel Lerio.

Scout Gerdy Yannis Gomeng-ad of Dona Aurora NHS will be the City Schools Division Superintendent and Marvienn Dumpit, the city council secretary.

Elementary leaders are also designated as department heads.

Scout Jomanah Marynette Dait of Baguio SPED Center will be the city accountant, Dylan Miel Lopez of Baguio Central School (BCS) as city administrator, Zyrene Khei Paraan of Dona Aurora Bueno ES as city assessor, Dwight Juan Sapdoy of Pinget ES as budget officer, Khelsy Claire Rillera of Baguio Central School as building officer Jetro Lorenz Gudaren of Lucban ES as city engineer, Ma. Pia Francesca Lumicao of BCS works as environment and parks officer, Rams Zwayzi Gomeng-ad of Don Mariano Marcos ES as general services officer, Briana Marheanne Fonite as health services officer, Reighner James Basilio of Josefa Carino ES as human resources officer, Wylie May Moling as disaster and risk reduction officer, Patrick Jefferson Soriano as city legal officer, Alyza Faith Sagampod as executive assistant, Gustav Equinio of Loakan ES as planning officer, Francesse Dominique Queroljico of Rizal ES as civil registrar, Cedric Laurence Ofiazs as social welfare officer, Jaereese Manipon of Lucban ES as city treasurer and Ishaan Lumbiag of Rizal ES as city veterinarian.               

The ceremonies this Monday includes the sashing of the scout officials by their parents and officials and ushering to their place of responsibility.

A testimonial dinner follows for the scouts’ experiences and expectations for the scouting advocacy. – Julie G. Fianza