June 17, 2024

Benguet pride Giselle Bulahao has remained the best female darter in the country based on the first quarter ranking of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines.

Bulahao, of the Kumpadres-Adan Builders darts team, gained 2,007 points according to the latest NDFP ranking where she also topped the 2023 last quarter national ranking.

The accumulated points were from the 110 ranking events conducted from April 1, 2022 to March 31, 2024.

She was recently named 2023 Lady Darter of the Year by the Benguet provincial government-initiated Benguet CARES (Cordillera Athletic Recognition for Excellence in Sports) Award. 

She received the same accolade by the NDFP as Chris Sports Lady Darter of 2023 for ruling the Malaysian Open and Johor Open 2023 ladies’ singles titles in Malaysia where she defeated Indian national champion Mahi Bosmia, 3-0, during the finals of the Malaysian Open.

She overtook veteran darter Janice Hinojales of Robson Team, Davao City with 1,359 points in second place.

Settling for the number three rank is Bukidnon’s Ging Ansale of Team Pacman/GMD with 1,132 points while teammate Mymy Santos of Taytay, Rizal earned 867.5 points for the fourth place.

Layden de Jesus of Baguio City, meanwhile earned 715 points to settle for the fifth place while teammate in MCDC, Bebang Orbeta of Manila got 622 points for the sixth place.

Seventh and eighth place in the ladies ranking, respectively are Aileen Oclarit of BCDA, Butuan City with 551 points and Ging Ricarte of Agendarts Team of General Santos City with 441 points.

NDFP is a non-profit organization that aims to set a standard for darts as a professional sport. The organization maintains nationwide support programs for the local dart organizations to expand the base of darters through market interventions in the natural breeding grounds of darts such as the barangays, schools, corporate agencies and the dart venues. — Ofelia C. Empian