February 23, 2024

Camp John Hay, Baguio Country Club, and Kumpadres led the local teams that clinched championship podium finishes in the regular division of the 72nd Fil-Am Invitational Golf Tournament held at CJH and BCC from Dec. 3 to 11.

The CJH team led by George Punasen with Emilio Curran, Ramon Luis Garcia, Melchor Rabanes, Ranz Louie Balay-odao, and Shean Bedi collected 421 points in four rounds to win the Fil-A, edging Uragun 1 by six points.

FIL-AM REGULAR CHAMPIONS — Kumpadres team (top) with members Warren Lee Dagupon, Henry Rosito, Dai Tsuchiya, Ramir Badua, and Jeremiah Guanso topped the Fil-C of the 72nd Fil-Am Invitational Golf Tournament while 3K Rock ECC with members Eric Dion Espadero, Edward De Leon, Mars Mudon, Soc Suayan, Rey Angel, and Francis Cuyod topped Fil-D to join the elite ranks of team champions in the longest and biggest amateur golf event held at Camp John Hay and Baguio Country Club. — Harley Palangchao

The BCC team topped the Fil-B with 349 points, with Philex Mines top honcho Euls Austin becoming the top scorer for the team with Jjef Razon, Miguel So Hu, Ely Lagman, Eddy Fianza, and Ryan Edmar Samonte as members.

Crown Legacy composed of Romy Aquino, Rudy Lockey, Inoc Laranang, Alberto Bautista, David Yabes, and Jan Zeddrieck Dacawi placed second with 343 points.

Kumpadres, mostly composed of players from Mankayan, Benguet, topped Fil-C with 393 points, as it made a record for having the widest margin by 73 points against second placer Fil-Am League of Golfer Chicago Team 1 with 320 points.

Kumpadres is composed of team captain Ramir Badua with Dai Tsuchiya, Henry Rosito, Je-remiah Guanso, and Warren Lee Dagupon as members.

The Moto team composed of Nelson Roa, Ariel Mula, Manolito Basmayor, Charles David Baguilat, and Roy Gayoba topped Am-C with 333 points, edging CJH Team 2 composed of John Gerald Marasigan; Manny Solis, Jr.; Arthur Allan Bayot; Danny Wong; and Mar Bustos with 333 points. Moto won via countback.

Event sponsor 3K Rock Eng’g and Const. Corp. Team 1 composed of Soc Suayan, Eric Dion Espadero, Mars Mudon, Edward de Leon, Francis Cu-yop, and Rey Angel topped Fil-D with 346 points.

The Bibak NY/NJ IGolfers Team 2 composed of Chaharo Galeng, Erwin Killip, Edgard Armas, Jessie Diaz, and Mario Manzano topped Am-E with 272 points followed by Macquarie Links Sydney 2 composed of Ruben Bugnosen, Robert Bolina, Cris Abalos, Jimmy Gonzales, and Roy Velasco with 254 points.

The Baguio Blue Bloods Wackers composed of Douglas Rufino, Nicanor Ventura, Antonio Fernandez, Philip Randolf Kiat-ong, Raul Tangco, and Ramsey Sudaypan placed se-cond in Fil-E with 303 points.

The Manila Southwoods topped the Fil and Am championship flights to complete the sweep against other teams composed of top amateur golfers in the country. – Harley F. Palangchao