June 21, 2024

BANGUED, Abra – The Department of the Interior and Local Government concluded the Local Government Month observance with the recognition of outstanding local government units in line with the theme, “Strengthening good local governance towards sustainable and resilient Filipino communities.”

Gov. Joy Bernos and DILG-Abra Director Millicent Carino awarded the local legislative citation to the LGUs of Bangued, Danglas, San Quintin, and Penarrubia.

The Lupong Tagapamayapa Award was given to Barangay Poblacion, Luba, which was received by Punong Barangay Daniel M. Basingan.

Lagayan, headed by Mayor Edmarc L. Crisologo, received the Most Improved LGU in the province award.

The Best Practice Award was awarded to the LGUs of Lagangilang, San Quintin, Pilar, Dolores, Tineg, Danglas, Lagayan, Tubo, Penarrubia, La Paz, Luba, Malibcong, Bucay, Manabo, San Juan, Pidigan, Sallapadan, Tayum, and Bangued.

The provincial government also recognized the LGUs, national government agencies, and civil society organizations for their support and contribution to good local governance.

“May this recognition of our efforts inspire us to work harder for the betterment of the Abrenians,” Bernos said. – PIA Abra