December 8, 2023

As it enters the second year of the search for the best tourism village, the Department of Tourism-Cordillera is hoping more community-managed tourist destinations will participate in the search.

Emerging, existing, and community-led tourism villages in the provinces of Abra, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga, and Mountain Province are eligible to submit their application on or before Sept. 5.

Tourism villages that will be chosen will receive a cash prize of between P1 million to P100,000 which will be used for the improvement of these destinations.

The DOT is putting its thrust in the improvement and conservation of tourism villages in line with the sustainable development goals of promoting environmentally-sound and participatory tourism programs by engaging the community including indigenous peoples.

The search also aims to incentivize tourism villages that practice sustainable tourism, promote responsible tourism, maintain international standards in community-based tourism, and promote the Cordillera as a wholesome destination.

Criteria for the selection include sustainable management of the destination, socio-economic and rural development sustainability, cultural sustainability, and environmental sustainability.

Applicants that have joined the competition in 2022 but have not completed their projects or those that have not liquidated their prize money are disqualified from joining the 2023 search.

Applicants will be evaluated by a screening committee from the DOT after which a team composed of representatives from the DOT, Commission on Higher Education, National Economic and Development Authority, Department of the Interior and Local Government, Technical Education and Skills Development Authority, and from the private sector will conduct an ocular of the village.

Applications forms may be downloaded at and are also available in provincial and municipal tourism offices in CAR.

In 2022, the best tourism villages were the Baang, Hapao, and Nungulunan, Hungduan Rice Terraces cluster in Ifugao; Pidlisan Village, Sagada, Mountain Province, Naneng Heritage Village Tabuk, City Kalinga; Bila Tourism Village in Tabuk City; Pasil Slow Food Community, Dantangan in Pasil, Kalinga; Marag Tourism Village in Marag Valley, Luna, Apayao; Balbalasang Proper in Balbalan, Kalinga, and La Diyang Haven in Tuba, Benguet. – Rimaliza A. Opiña