June 23, 2024

KALINGA — The province will have a new governor and vice governor come July 1 while its representative for the lone congressional district retained the post.

James Edduba will take the helm as governor after garnering 60,070 votes, defeating incumbent Gov. Ferdinand Tubban who got 56,019 votes.

For vice governor, Jocel Baac got a total of 68,616 votes, easing out current Vice Gov. Dave Odiem, who gathered 54,905 votes.

Rep. Jesse Mangaoang retained his seat with 94,430 votes over his rival Roy Dickpus, who got 29,744. Mangaoang will serve his third term in Congress.

Those who will sit as provincial board members for the first district are Harley Duguiang with 35,621 votes, followed by Roger Saga-oc with 31,179 votes; Shirlynne Dasayon-Alunday with 28,292 votes; and Danzel Michael Langkit with 24,982 votes.

For the second district, the winners are Mark Aldrich Diasen with 44,204 votes; Glenn Amla, 41,965 votes; Lester Lee Tarnatem 40,880; and Antonio Bakilan with 38,696 votes.

The Provincial Board of Canvassers proclaimed the elected provincial officials on May 10.

Per town, Balbalan will have a new mayor and vice mayor.

Almar Malannag will be the new mayor after garnering 4,503 votes and edging incumbent mayor Eric Gonayon who got 3,590 votes; while Rowina Alison Damian was elected vice mayor after garnering 4,338 votes over incumbent vice mayor Winifredo Agapito who amassed 3,664 votes.

For the City of Tabuk, Mayor Darwin Estrañero retained his seat after getting 24,718 votes, defeating closest rival, incumbent vice mayor Bernard Glenn Dao-as, who got 18,038 votes. Dick Bal-o is elected new city vice mayor garnering 23,230 votes defeating Zorayda Mia Wacnang who got 18,849 votes.

In Lubuagan, elected mayor is Joel Tagaotao with 4,551 votes defeating incumbent Ann Ann Dickpus with 4,447 votes, while Alonzo Saclag Jr. won as new vice mayor with 5,033 votes over Riesel Tocyapao with 3,534 votes.

For Pasil, Chao-ig Malannag won as new mayor with 3,918 votes over Emilio Kitongan with 2,314 votes, while unopposed candidate for vice mayor Benny Magangat got 4,269 votes.

Pinukpuk Mayor Irving Dasayon retained his seat with 9,603 votes, edging Ma. Milagrosa Dieza with 7,523 votes; while Jimmy Dasayon also retained his seat vice mayor with 9,913 votes over Roy Lumawig’s 6,689 votes.

In Rizal, unchallenged candidate for mayor Karl Baac garnered 8,355 votes, while Samuel Valdez retained his seat as vice mayor with 6,749 votes over closest rival Bebot dela Cruz with 4,693 votes.

For Tanudan, Jaedicke Rhoss Dagadag is reelected mayor with 5,541 votes over Johnwell Tiggangay with 3,358 votes. Santos Dalayap will be the new vice mayor with 3,261 votes edging out closest bet Fernando Cosidon with 2,837 votes.

Sacrament Gumilab is still the mayor of Tinglayan after garnering 5,796 votes, winning over incumbent vice mayor Charles Abay with 4,459 votes while Rogelio Tambalong got elected as new vice mayor with 5,032 votes over Dominic Lad-ing who got 4,893 votes. – Hanna C. Lacsamana