April 13, 2024

La Trinidad 1 has survived a late charge of Bokod, 65-60, and won the inaugural Cong. Eric Go Yap Congressional Cup at the Benguet Sports Complex on Wednesday.

It was hard-earned victory for La Trinidad 1 which led by as much as 24 middle of the second canto.

INAUGURAL CONG EGY CUP CHAMPIONS — After escaping Bokod in game 2 of their best of three series, La Trinidad 1 took home P250,000 after bagging the inaugural championship of the Cong. Eric Go Yap Congressional Cup at the Benguet Sports Complex in La Trinidad on Nov. 29. — Contributed photo

Armando Pollante led Trinidad with another 17 points, the same score he made in the first finals game. He added 10 rebounds, for his second double-double game in a week and another top performance for La Trinidad 1 that earned him the finals Most Valuable Player plum.

The newly-elected Sangguniang Kabataan chair of La Trinidad, Neil Ulep, had 14 points and 10 boards, while Kean Diaz added 13 markers.

Ramil Alimba led Bokod with 14 points, while John Ric Buenaventura had a rare double-double, 13 points and 13 boards. Darwin Fernandez came out with 10 markers.

La Trinidad 1 earned P250,000, while its beneficiary, the La Trinidad Municipal Employees Cooperative took home P150,000,

Bokod cashed in P150,000, while the Amukdaw Marginalized Fisherfolks Association carted home P100,000 for the team’s bridesmaid finish.

Itogon was P100,000 richer after finishing third, while their beneficiary, the People With Disability of Tuding Association went home with P80,000.

The night saw the league’s best players recognized with Cyril de Vera of Tuba as season MVP.

Joining de Vera in the first mythical five are Bokod’s John Ric Buenaventura, on point guard, Jude Quitolbo of Itogon and Fenrie Atinyao at forward and Pollante as center.

The second mythical team is composed of Atok’s Kurt Tamiray at point guard, Kyle Naisod of Kabayan at shooting guard, Bokod’s Gabino and Tuba’s John Cedric  Pugong and Nicanor Menzi, Jr.

Most of the awardees but Gabino saw action in the Benguet All-Stars against the PBA Motoclub on Nov. 30. 

The other members are Bryan Estepa of La Trinidad 2, Alarick Tindaan of Buguias, Lee, June Rey Buenaventura and Lenz Antolino of Mankayan. – Press release