February 22, 2024

LAGAWE, Ifugao – Mayor Martin Habawel, Jr. re-organized the Local Committee on Anti-Trafficking and Anti-Violence Against Women and Children (LCAT-VAWC) of this town to expedite and maximize resources and prevent duplication of functions and representations.
Habawel chairs the committee with the sangguniang bayan committee on women and family, senior citizen, children and disabled persons as vice chair.
The LCAT-VAWC will institute policies and programs to protect women and children who are victims of trafficking and violence; create and establish systems on surveillance, investigation, and ensure effective and efficient coordination; undertake information, education, and advocacy campaign against trafficking in persons and VAWC; and monitor and oversee the implementation of the Anti-Trafficking in Person Act of 2003, Anti-VAWC Act of 2004, and other related laws.
The departments of the Interior and Local Government, Social Welfare and Development, and Justice issued a joint memorandum order that directed the creation of LCAT-VAWC.
The Anti-Trafficking in Person Act of 2003 provides for the crafting of policies to eliminate trafficking in persons especially women and children, establishing the necessary institutional mechanisms for the protection and support of trafficked persons, and providing penalties for its violations.
The Anti-VAWC seeks to address the prevalence of violence against women and their children committed by their intimate partners.
Other members of the LCAT-VAWC are the sangguniang bayan committee on transportation and communication, Association of Barangay Council president, representative from the Provincial Prosecutor’s Office, Municipal Local Government Operations officer, Municipal Social Welfare and Development officer, Municipal Health officer, Department of Education district supervisor, chief of police, Philippine Information Agency manager, Barangay Women’s Desk officer, President of the Lagawe Federation of Women’s Organization, Overseas Filipino Worker Association president, and the Lagawe Ministerial Fellowship president. – Dan B. Codamon