February 22, 2024

Pugo Adventure led local teams that clinched the championship trophies in the 32nd Corporate Cup that drew over 73 teams nationwide at Camp John Hay last week.
It is the fourth consecutive time that Pugo Adventure with team manager Eugene Martin to win the elite seniors 1 of the tournament held March 10 to 12.
Team members Fred Puckett, Jeong Sek Jun, Park Jong Won, and Goody Ignacio pooled a total score of 267 to top their group followed by Srixon and Flying V composed of Peter Go, Gene Martin, Sammy Diciano, and Robert Basco.
The Brothers Inc. of Ramon Cabrera, George Madayag, Mario Madayag, and Carlos De Leon topped the seniors 2 with 235 points while BIC Investment composed of Tony Buan, Melvin Escara, Gil Sobremonte, and Mike Sobremonte won seniors 3 with 223 points.
Four more teams composed mostly of local players also emerged as champions in the regular division with Camp John Hay Golf Club composed of Kim Jun Young, Hur Yun, Teody Pascual, and Shin Sun Young topping the elite group 1 with 283 points, the highest among all participating teams.
Pascual also won the individual top scorer in group 1 with 100 points.
Previous regular group 1 winner Valleybread composed of George Punasen, Bond Holden Mangaoang, Arnel Peil, and Eric Dion Espadero settled for third place with 278 points.
The KT Glass team of Romy Tio, Bobby Garcia, Soc Suayan, and Willy Enciso clinched group 2 with 247 points while  Sammy Sab-it of Baguio Blue Bloods Eagles topped the group 2 individual scorers with 96 points.
The Pacific Alliance Capital Group of Bayani Tecson, Charles Baguilat, Manny Solis, and Lee Jung Hyun won as champion in group 3 with 246 points while the Tao Tao Guam composed of Glenn Wong, Daisuke Hagiwara, Jeffrey Taitingfong, and Jojo Nicolas won group 4 with 244 points.
Hagiwara also emerged as the individual top scorer in  group 3 with 102 points, the highest among all individual awardees.
The champion in regular group 5 is BCM Balayan composed of Rosauro Sison, Alvin Erni, Gerardo Aguado II, and Arnel Panganiban with 249 points.
The Blue Blood Young Once composed of James Alviar, Emil Alviar, Matt Luspian, and Willy Tacayan were first runner-up in seniors 3 with 217 points while the Macquarie Links of Sydney, Australia composed of Ruben Bugnosen, Dai Tsuchiya, Frank Tan, and Carlos Perez was also first runner-up in seniors 2 with 229 points.
This year’s Corporate Cup drew close to 400 players.  – Harley F. Palangchao