June 23, 2024

Cordilleran golfer Warren Lee Dagupon of Pines Kumpadres Golf Club, Inc. carded 31 PAL points to emerge the overall champion in the 1st Yogi Bears Invitational and MBBM Thanksgiving Tournament at Pinewoods Golf and Country Club on weekend.

Familiarity of the course could have been an edge among regular players at Pinewoods such as Dagupon, as they ruled the men’s division of the tournament.

Another regular player, Chester Calpotura, topped the men’s class A with 25 points while PKGI’s Joshua Ribaya also collected 25 for the first runner-up plum with Mankayan, Benguet golfing pride Jeremiah Guanso settling for the second runner-up trophy.

Visiting golfer Von Vargas ruled the men’s class B with 21 points while Dr. Charles Valencerina and Rey Perez placed first and second runners-up with 20 and 19 points, respectively.

Vargas also reached 317 yards at hole seven to win the longest drive special award with a cash prize of P3,000.

Baguio Councilor Fred Bagbagen had 31 points to be declared men’s class C champion followed by Chris Johnson and Aldwin Larano with 21 and 19, points in that order.

Chris Serafin collected 27 points to claim the ladies A championship trophy followed by Dema Dulnuan and Macky Abriol with 21 and 18 points, respectively.

Mel Cortez clinched the ladies B with 17 points followed by Yue Yun Suk and Kim Young Aun in that order.

Lawyer Mark Jeff Balangitan’s ball touched the line at hole 15 to win the most accurate drive plus a P3,000 cash prize while fellow lawyer, Brenner Bengwayan, won the nearest to the pin plus a cash prize of P5,000. – Harley F. Palangchao