February 28, 2024

■  Ofelia C. Empian 

Philippine National Police Chief Benjamin Acorda, Jr. honored the awardees of the Police Regional Office-Cordillera during its celebration of the 122nd Police Service Anniversary on Oct. 19 at the Camp Bado Dangwa in La Trinidad, Benguet.

Acorda was the guest of honor and speaker during the event that recognized the outstanding performance of personnel and offices of PRO-Cor.

He said the awardees proved true the moniker as “home of the most disciplined cops” in the country.

Aside from law enforcement efforts, Acorda has lauded the PRO-Cor under B/Gen. David Peredo, Jr. for its community initiatives such as the pabahay project in which 21 houses for beneficiaries were built; the pailaw project where 20 areas were illuminated; patubig with three water projects; and the palikuran ni Juanawith three comfort rooms established in the region.

Sa mga nakaraang taon, inyong pinatunayan na seryoso kayo sa pagsugpo ng ilegal na droga at paglaban sa krimen gayundin sa pagpapanatili ng seguridad at pagtulong sa ating mga kababayan dito sa Cordillera. Kayo ang tunay na haligi ng ating serbisyong nagkakaisa,” Acorda said.

Acorda led the awarding ceremony during the event where 10 units and individuals were hailed as special awardees including the Baguio City Police Office as the city police special awardee for its creation of the programs, Eye on the Street and Task Force Bangon Palengke.

Tabuk City Police Station also received the component city police station special award for implementing the Kapwa Ko, Sagot Ko program while the Regional Mobile Force Battalion 15 received the regional mobile force battalion special award for implementing Panag-aywan iti Kailyan, Alay na Dunong at Edukasyon ni Kuya scholarship program, and the sulat kamay as its best practices.

The Baguio City Mobile Force Company also bagged the CMFC special award for its Dumanun Makitungtung strategy and motorcycle response team as its emerging best practices while the Benguet Provincial Police Office was hailed as the special unit awardee for its pailaw and house repair project, which enhances the living conditions of its beneficiaries who live in far-flung areas in the province.

The Hungduan Municipal Police Station together with the municipality of Hungduan, Ifugao were recognized as the most peaceful municipality for 2023.

Apayao was hailed as the special local government unit awardee for its continuous support to the PNP programs in the province; the Bibak-Canada as special non-government organization awardee; and M/Sgt. Rhescien Mae Ballitoc-Vicente as special individual awardee for her exceptional efforts in organizing outreach activities.

Unit awardees during the ceremony were Benguet PPO as Best Police Provincial office; Itogon Municipal Police Station as best MPS; Mountain Province Provincial Mobile Force Company as best PMFC; Regional Anti-Cybercrime Unit as Best Operational Support Unit; and Regional Legal Office as Best Administrative Support Unit. 

Outstanding individual awardees are Col. Laudemer Llaneta as Best Senior Police Commissioned Officer for Administration; Col. Francisco Bulwayan, Jr. as Best Senior PCO for Operations; Lt/Col. Allan Guyguyon as Best Junior PCO for Administration; Lt/Col. Cleff Vencio as Best Junior PCO for Operation; EMS Eric Bangdo as Best Senior Police Non-Commissioned Officer (PNCO); EMS Noren Bandao as Best Senior PNCO for Operations; S/Sgt. Jaynus Puno as Best Junior PNCO for Administration; Cpl. Aldrin Bocalan as Best Junior PNCO for Operations; and NUP Karhen Cacanindin as Best NUP non-supervisory level.