June 24, 2024

The Buluts of Apayao remain in control of the province’s executive post and representation to the Lower House.

Rep. Elias Bulut, Jr. will sit as governor in July, switching posts with her sibling, incumbent Gov. Eleanor Bulut-Begtang, who will represent Apayao’s lone congressional district.

Bulut earned 49,851 votes in his unopposed bid for provincial governor.

Incumbent Vice Gov. Remy Albano will remain in his post after beating Myra Ballesteros in their bid to head the Apayao provincial board.

Albano garnered 28,279 votes while Ballesteros got 27,665 votes.

Begtang earned 50,503 votes in her unopposed bid as Apayao’s representative to the Lower House.

Those who will compose the provincial board representing the first district are Kyle Bulut who earned 18,013 votes; Alison Betat, 16,757 votes; Vincent Talattag, 14,451 votes; and Jun Labueng, 12,209 votes.

Elected for the second district are Elmer Molina who garnered 18,779 votes; Emiliano Galleon, 17,916 votes; Mcleen Julian, 15,725 votes; and Elmer Canonizado, 15,204 votes.

For the municipalities, Calanasan will be led by incumbent Mayor Shamir Bulut and incumbent Vice Mayor Martin Lawat who are both unopposed in their bids.

In Conner, Vice Mayor Jorico Bayaua will sit as the town’s local chief executive in July with Alex Aswigue as vice mayor.

In Flora, Rodolfo Juan succeeded in his bid for municipal mayor with Jeofrey Blas as vice mayor.

Kabugao will be led anew by incumbent Mayor Bensmar Ligwang with Fabulous Tucjang as vice mayor.

Luna Mayor Josephine Bangsil and Vice Mayor Manolito Bullaoit retained their positions after running unopposed in their reelection bid.

Pudtol Mayor Hector Reuel Pascua succeeded in his reelection attempt with Randy Laoat as vice mayor.

In Santa Marcela, Mayor Evelyn Barsatan and Vice Mayor Rolly Guiang and will occupy the town’s top posts in the next three years after running unopposed in their reelection bid.

Apayao’s provincial and municipal election results are based on the Commission on Elections transparency media server.

A total of 67,563 out of the province’s 78,454 registered voters casted their votes on May 9.

The Philippine Information Agency-Cordillera reported the municipal board of canvassers of Calanasan, Luna, and Pudtol proclaimed the municipal winners on May 10. – Jane B. Cadalig