July 25, 2024

Retired police general Ed Basbas fired a six-over gross score with an impressive 14 pars to rule this year’s first edition of the Kafagway Golf Tournament at the Baguio Country Club on weekend.
Basbas, a former regional director of Police Regional Office-9, was three-over at front nine six pars while he was almost even par at back nine without the double bogey at hole 11 for a total of 48 Molave points to become the most valuable player from the roster of more than 100 parbusters who joined the tournament.
Mars Garcia was also six-over par 61 with a solid three birdies in the first four holes plus eight pars, five bogeys, and one double bogey to top the member’s men’s Class A followed by Jun Bantales and Pol Mayos, who had 47 and 44 Molave points, respectively.
Garcia also won the nearest to the pin special award.
Dan Torres had 34 points to win the member’s B followed by Jun Tabanda and Jun Pangan in that order.
Nora Sy topped the member’s ladies A with 28 points followed by Lanie Julian while Mel Donato ruled the ladies B with 28 points followed by Lance Julian.
In the guest division, Virgilio Bucat fired 49 Molave points to win the men’s A followed by Raffy Bazar and Ramir Badua while Don Lerit won the men’s B with 35 points followed by Lorenzo dela Cruz.
Chairmaine Molintas won the ladies division with 34 points followed by Sung Ja Jung and Epi Geston.
Celso Pestaño won the most accurate drive while Alex Tan clinched the longest drive award.
The tournament saw the active participation of junior golfers from Baguio, Benguet, and South Korea. – Harley F. Palangchao