June 17, 2024

Retired police general Ed Basbas fired a gross of 62 to win as the overall champion in the Potenciano Ilusorio Memorial Cup 2023 in honor of the president emeritus of the Baguio Country Club.

A perennial club champion, Basbas, who also won the most accurate drive, was just one over par at the par 61 BCC course which is one of the most challenging courses in Luzon.

ILUSORIO CUP WINNERS — The winners in the various divisions of the Potenciano Ilusorio Memorial Cup 2023 led by lowest gross winner Ed Basbas presented their trophies during awards rites at the Baguio Country Club on weekend. — Glai Del Rosario

Richard Difuntorum topped the members men’s A with 47 Molave points followed by Bong Mandapat, who also won the nearest to the pin special award, and Euls Austin with 46 and 45 in that order while John Ray Libiran topped the members men’s B with 39 followed by Mariano Ang, also with 39, and Derek Bautista with 37.

Nora Sy won the members ladies A with 32 followed by Kia Angheng, also with 32, and Mel Donato with 25 while Lanie Julian went home with the members ladies B championship trophy and she was tailed by Beth Petterson with 26 and Letty Baquilar with 25.

Retired police general Manny Obrera topped the guests men’s A with 52 followed by Bernard Capuyan and Erwin Killip with identical 47 points while Jun De Leon topped the men’s B with 38 followed by retired police colonel Don Bacquian and Ariz Datuin with 38 and 26 in that order.

The guests ladies open championship trophy went to Kim Suk Hee with 32 followed by Marj Datuin with 30 and Joan Pintoy.

Isonn Angheng won the longest drive for reaching 274 yards at hole three. – Harley F. Palangchao