June 22, 2024

The University of the Philippines Baguio has opened the search for its next chancellor.
The Search Committee said a nominee must be a Filipino with a strong nationalist commitment, have the commitment to academic freedom and the values and ideals of the university, and distinction in their chosen field of expertise coupled with a generalist view and an appreciation of other disciplines.
The nominee must have demonstrated observance of the principles of collegiality and the democratic process, unquestionable moral integrity, academic leadership and administrative skill, and willingness to serve as chancellor on a full-time basis and for the full term of three years.
Any person or group within UP is encouraged to submit their nomination. They must submit a nomination letter specifying the reasons or justifications for the nomination (indicating how the nominee measures up to the qualifications specified in IV-A), and bearing the printed name(s) and signature(s) of the nominator(s) and two copies of the nominee’s curriculum vitae and one- or two-page summary thereof.
The complete set of nomination papers must be submitted by Jan. 29 via email (preferred): [email protected] or [email protected]; the Office of the Secretary of the University, First Floor, Administration Building, Quezon Hall, University of the Philippines Diliman, Quezon City 1101; or to any member of the Search Committee.
Upon acceptance of nominations, nominees must submit to the Search Committee a vision paper of no more than five pages; and a summary of his/her most significant qualifications and achievements in no more than two pages; participate in a public forum to present their vision paper and address registered questions from attendees; and agree to be interviewed by the Search Committee.
The Search Committee members for the next UP Baguio chancellor are professors Paul Samuel P. Ignacio, chair and senior faculty representative; Ruth M. Tindaan, senior faculty representative; Adonis Ramy L. Elumbre, junior faculty representative; Ides Josepina D. Macapanpan, junior faculty representative; Aurora P. Parcasio, Research, Extension, and Professional Staff representative; Ruel C. Lestino, administrative representative; Leandro Enrico T. Ponce, student representative; and Roberto M. Lara, president’s representative. – Press release