April 16, 2024

Young guns of the Team Lakay Central Gym (TLCG) emerged the overall champion in the 34th Lakay Grappler’s Cup held at the Benguet Capitol on Sept. 11. 

TLCG garnered eight gold, 16 silver, and five bronze medals followed by Ronin (RN) team with five gold and one bronze.

GRAPPLER’S CUP WINNERS — Bemedalled wushu and kickboxing national athlete Jean Claude Saclag ruled the senior’s male 65 to 71-kilogram category of the 34th Team Lakay Grappler’s Cup held at the Benguet Capitol Hall on weekend. The silver went to Adonis Sevillano while the bronze went to Denver Songaben, all from Team Lakay Central Gym. — Roderick Osis

Team Lakay Training Center (TLTC) had four gold, one silver, and one bronze medals while the Young Men’s Christian Association (YMCA) had three gold and three silver medals. 

Other teams that fielded their athletes include the University of the Cordilleras with 1-1-1 medal haul; Team Lakay San Fernando with 1-0-1 medals; Mahar-lika with one gold medal; Matzone with one silver; and Gridlock with one bronze medal.  

Gold medal winners in the 10 to 12 kids’ division were Ronald Ermo of TLTC and Zhaijan Corpuz of YMCA while silver medalists were Rusty Pasul of TLCG and  Jan Matthew.

For the 13 to 15, gold medalists were Arvinson Balanoy of TLTC, Ronin Team’s Keith Diong-an, Diomel Ghryne Bonoy of TLCG, and Gael Alberto of YMCA while the silver medalists are Rafael Danglosi of RN, Alexyz Allan of YMCA, Charles Calawen of TLCG, and Richard Conchinco of TLCG.

Bronze medalist was Kendrick Tiangga of TLCG.

Ralph Cervantes  of TLCG bagged the gold, while teammate Jayden Cayad-an got silver in the kids 13 to 15 advance, while Thai Andro Cudao of YMCA and Matt Andrew Lebbeng, both of YMCA, clinched gold and silver, respectively in the same category.

Jhoezelle Sagayao of TLTC led the female juniors category followed by Erhlyn Bandas of TLCG and Francemyr Agusdan of TLTC.

Leomar Odanos of TLTC ruled the junior male followed by Gil Andrei Eliw of TLCG for the silver medal, while  and Chad Mayos of TLCG won the gold over silver medalist Fritz Vicente of UC in the senior male.

Maharlika’s Ychivan Moises, Ruselle Ayochok of TLCG and Joshua Almora of TLCG got gold, silver, and bronze respectively in the junior’s 58  to 64-kilogram while Climpson Piluden of RN ruled over George Malin of YMCA in the junior 65 kg and above.

Gold medalists for the senior female were Dalemarie Mayos of TLCG and Jheykye Agui-noas of TLSF while silver medals went to Yvonne Aowes of TLCG and Claudine Veloso of TLCG.

Senior male top winners in the novice were Jhessie Landocan of UC, and Daryl Marcelino, Ross Danao, and Hideshiko Nozano, all of Ronin.

The senior male advance gold medalists were Gamber Angcaway, Estrada Donga-as, Jean Claude Saclag, and Carlos Alvarez, all from TLCG.

Still in senior’s male division, silver medals went to John Dave Subaybay of TLTC, Ethan Salvador of MZ, Chad Mayos, Cyrus Costian, Lecko Gamonac, JR Dela Peña, Adonis Sevillano, and Joris Jonker, all of TLCG.

Bronze medalists were Elvester Garpar of TLSF, Duanne Lucas of GL, Krist Alipit of UC; Denver Songaben and Fhairoz Khan, both of TLCG. 

TLCG’s representatives battled it out in the absolute division and Joris Jonker ruled as the champion followed by Denver Songaben and Carlos Alvarez for the silver and bronze medal plum. Special award went to Songaban for the best and fastest finish. – Ofelia C. Empian