June 20, 2024

Cordillera athletes led by Team Lakay fighters dominated the 2022 National Open Kickboxing Championship at the SM Mall of Asia Arena recently with 14 gold, four silver, and five bronze medals.

Team Lakay fighters who are with ONE Championship and current members of the national squad amassed 14 gold me-dals, the highest for a team, who saw action in the qualifying rounds for the 2023 Southeast Asian Games.

TOTAL DOMINATION — Athletes of Team Lakay have dominated the 2022 National Open Kickboxing Championship at the SM Mall of Asia Arena with 14 gold, two silver, and three bronze medals in the event that also served as a qualifying event for the upcoming 2023 Southeast Asian Games. Other fighters from other Cordillera-based clubs also won medals. — Team Lakay photo

Gold medalists in the full contact are Danny Kingad in 63.5-kilogram, Je-remy Pacatiw in 71-kg., Daryl Chulipas in 51-kg., Carlo Von Buminaang in 67-kg., and Jenelyn Olsim in 60-kg.

Gold medalists in low kick are JomarBalangui i n 57-kg., Jean Claude Saclag in 63.5-kg, Carlos Alvarez in 67-kg., Honorio Banario in 71-kg., Claudine Veloso in 52-kg., Grace Carluen in 56-kg., and Gina Iniong-Araos in 60-kg.

Lecko Gamonnac and Emmanuel Cantores also clinched gold medal apiece in the 57-kg. and 63-kg. light kick.

Silver medalists in the low kick from Team Lakay are Jerlyn Kingad in 56-kg. and Zephanya Ngaya in 60-kg.

Kafagway MMA and Kickboxing Team members Mikko Camingawan and Karl Epe also won silver medal apiece in the 54-kg. full contact and 57-kg. light kick, respectively.

Bronze medalists in full contact from Team Lakay are Conan Adegawa in 60-kg., Estrada                                        Donga-as in 54-kg., and Ezra Saclag in 57-kg. while the bronze medalists from Kafagway MMA and Kickboxing Team are Roldan Lingbanan in 60-kg. full contact and Lance Villamer in 67-kg. light kick.

Athletes from Team Lakay are the medal haulers for the national squad under the Samahang Kickboxing ng Pilipinas during the past two SEA Games hosted by the Philippines in 2019 and Vietnam this year. – Harley F. Palangchao