May 23, 2024
TAGSANAY AWARD CHAMPION — Baguio’s technical-vocational trainer Noriel K. Ramos was adjudged the overall champion in the 2022 National Tagasanay Award held at the Technical Education and Skills Development Authority central office in Taguig on Sept. 27. An efficient trainer, Ramos entered the magic 8 from among the 17 contenders from the private Technical Vocational Institutions and TESDA Technology Institutions nationwide vying for the overall title with a score of 386 out of the 500 points. — Tesda photo

The Technical Education and Skills Development Authority declared Noriel K. Ramos as the overall champion in the 2022 National Tagsanay awarding ceremony held at the Tesda central office in Taguig on Sept. 27.
Out of the 17 contenders from private technical-vocational institutions (TVI) and Tesda iechnology institutions (TTIs) nationwide, Ramos was included in the top eight finalists and snatched the title with 386 points out of 500.
He was followed by first runner-up Regina F. Valencia of Universidad da Sta. Isabel de Naga Inc. in Region 5 and Mateo A. Alin Jr. of the Regional Training Center-Cebu, Region 7, who landed second runner-up.
Ramos had his humble beginnings as a volunteer trainer in Tesda in 2010, and worked as a job order employee for five years before landing a permanent position as a trainer in the Regional Training Center-Baguio in 2016.
He is a passionate Technical-Vocational Education and Training (TVET) trainer in Machining, CNC Lathe and Milling Machine Operations and also extended his services and expertise in the fields of Electronics, Technical Drafting, and IT-related qualifications.
As a trainer, he faced many challenges but this also shaped him to become a better person in his field.
“One of the challenges I faced was keeping up with new technology because it is constantly changing and the things I teach should be re-levant to the needs of the industry,” he said.
He was also named the Best Trainer at RTC-Baguio in 2016 for his contributions to the institution’s success, which included the 2-star rating in Machining NC II, 1-star in CNC Lathe Machine Operations NC II, and 1-Star in CNC Milling Machine Operations NC II.
He is also active in the development and implementation of the Higher Level Diploma Program, improvements to facilities and maintenance, and other TVET-related programs and projects.
As an innovator, he also developed a 7-in-1 multi-tool, 32-in-1 precision screw, and hammer which are not yet available in the market.
He also initiated research in prototyping a self-sustaining generator, another research on the use of a heat treatment furnace oven, and research in prototyping a five-axis trunnion table for CNC milling machines.
Ramos urged fellow trainers to be passionate about what they do. 
“Dapat mahal mo ang propesyon na pinili mo at ibigay mo ang lahat ng iyong makakaya para sa kalidad na edukasyon. Sabi nga ni John Dewey, kung hindi natin paghuhusayan ang ating pagtuturo, ninanakawan natin ang kabataan sa maganda nilang kinabukasan,” he said.
As the National Tagsanay Award overall winner, he took home a cash prize of P25,000. He also received four special awards including Best Trainer’s Portfolio; Best Trainer in Computer-Based Examination; Best Trainer in Experience Sharing; and Best Trainer in Activity-Based Assessment.
The Tagsanay Award is one of Tesda’s Institutional Awards that gives recognition and incentives to trainers from private and public TVIs and TTIs who have exceeded the requirements for TVET trainers and have demonstrated competencies beyond expectations.
Nominees undergo a stringent selection and elimination process starting from the provincial level. In the final stage of the process, the nominees’ logic, balance, negotiation skills, courage, taste, and ability to deal with new challenges are tested and evaluated. Their portfolios are also carefully scrutinized.
Meanwhile, the Regional Training Center-Baguio was awarded as the TVET Institution Overall Champion for supporting the career of a quality TVET trainer who had exceeded the standards and expectations of the institution.
Tesda-CAR is consistently garnering multiple awards in the past. Some of the notable awards are Mary Kristine Iris C. Pasion, first runner-up 2021 National Tagsanay Award; Joseph Sab-it Jr., second runner-up 2020 Tagsanay Award; and Marybeth Y. So, first runner-up 2017 Tagsanay Award. – Press release