April 17, 2024

Tublay Mayor Armando Lauro has been elected new president of the League of Municipalities of the Philippines (LMP) Benguet.

Lauro, a three-term mayor, will represent the league to the regional and national chapters for 2022 to 2025.

Other officers of the league are  Ruben Tinda-an of Buguias as vice president, Thomas Wales Jr. of Bokod as secretary, Romeo Salda of La Trinidad as treasurer, and Manny Fermin of Kapangan as press relations officer.

Elected as board of directors are Clarita Sal-ongan of Tuba, Alfredo Dacumos of Sablan, Bernard Waklin of Itogon, Florante Bantales of Kabayan, Cesar Molitas of Kibungan, Bill Raymundo of Bakun, Dario Banario of Mankayan, and Franklin Smith of Atok.

The LMP-Benguet was organized to assist the national government in the formulation and implementation of policies, programs, and projects affecting municipalities. It also serves as an avenue for expressing ideas for the promotion of the welfare of the municipalities.

Meanwhile, Buguias Councilor Ronald Kimakim was elected new president of the Philippine Councilors League Benguet with 70 votes out of the 140 total number of councilors in the province present during the recent election.

Kimakim will join the provincial board as an ex-officio member.

Other elected officers are Ghislyn Lucio-Marave of Kabayan as vice president, Dinglee Berto of Tublay as secretary general, Elinger Dayotao of Bokod as treasurer, Norberto Pacio of Itogon as auditor, Rex Alwin Aquisan of Kabayan as public relations officer, and Jovelyn Desierto of Tublay as business manager.

Elected as the federation directors are: Lovio Nabe of Kibungan; Aldrin Camiling of Mankayan; Harris Dizon of Kapangan; Cesar Calado of Sablan; Lison Latanan, Jr. of Itogon; Soriano Mendoza of Tublay; and Edward Beliano of Atok. The new sets of officials also took their oath of office before Gov. Melchor Diclas. – Ofelia C. Empian