April 17, 2024

Two local coaches emerged as this year’s top winners in the annual Mauricio G. Domogan Cup held at the Baguio Country Club and Camp John Hay fairways on weekend.
Mixed martial arts coach Christian Villareal fired a total gross of 132 points by firing an even par at the par-69 CJH and two-over at the par-61 BCC to become the overall champion in this year’s edition of the golf for-a-cause.
Fairway masters coach Jobert Casignia, on the other hand, topped the premier men’s class A with 36 Stableford points at the BCC and another 33 points at CJH for a total of 69 points.
Theody Pascual placed second in the men’s A with 64 points followed by Kalinga Rep. Allen Jesse Mangaoang with 33 and 30 points at BCC and CJH, respectively.
Korean Ahn Sung Woo ruled the men’s B with 64 points followed by Romy Aquino and Dennis Sta. Cruz with 61 and 58 points, respectively.
Ricky Dimacurot won the men’s C with 59 followed by Jun De Leon with 53 and Woon Wong Sang 52 while Paraiso Bautista emerged as the men’s D champion with 59 followed by Enrico Papa and Francis Cup with 48 and 47, respectively.
Baguio’s own Fred Puckett topped the senior’s A with 69 followed by Jesus Laigo and Manny Obrera with 69 and 64, respectively. Puckett edged Laigo with a number of birdies.
Juanito Butche earned 53 points for the senior’s B trophy followed by Arnol Gunnacao and Sonny Tan with 51 points apiece while Jojie Esguerra had 55 for the senior’s C trophy followed by Alex Mercado and Roger Conde with 52 and 45 points in that order.
The ladies class A was an all-Korean show with Seo Eun Young winning as champion with 60 points followed by Shin Sun Young and Kim Jun Young.
Local player Nora Sy won the ladies B with 45 followed by Yhu Kyung Sook and Donna Navarrete with 40 apiece while the ladies C was topped by Joy Amores with 44 points followed Kim So Hyoung and Bol Andaya.
The guest division championship trophy went to Ariz Fernando followed by Rudy Alcantara and Rae Dayasen.
This year’s tournament was also highlighted by two holes-in-one with Jun Bantales scoring at hole 15 at CJH while Paul Diaz also scored it at hole four, also at CJH.
Jose Cortina won this year’s longest drives awards by firing 294 yards at BCC and 274 yards at BCC.
The most accurate drives awardees are Patricio Cabigas at CJH and Albert Balingit and Bobby Santos at BCC while the nearest to the pin awardees are Seo Eun Young at CJH and Emmanuel Perez at BCC.
This year’s MGD tournament drew 380 players from different parts of Luzon. – Harley F. Palangchao