January 31, 2023

Eleven individuals from Apayao will soon be going back to their province through the Balik Probinsya, Bagong Pag-asa (BP2) program of the government.
The National Housing Authority provided the list of beneficiaries and were assessed and validated by the Department of Social Welfare and Development from among the 16 total original beneficiaries. They were further validated by the provincial government of Apayao said Freda Toyoken of the National Economic Development Authority-Cordillera.
The BP2 program seeks to decongest Metro Manila and encourage those who have low income; those displaced by the Covid-19 pandemic; and those living in high risk areas to return to their provinces.
The program is a whole of government approach where agencies together with the receiving local government unit work together to address the needs of the returning residents to the countryside. NEDA-Cordillera serves as the BP2 program secretariat in the region.
In a radio interview, Department of Trade and Industry OIC Regional Director Juliet Lucas said their office offers entrepreneurial programs for potential or existing micro, small, and medium entrepreneurs such as training programs, capacitation and exposure to entrepreneurship.
Lucas said if the dispatched beneficiaries are ready for entrepreneurship, they are referred to Negosyo centers.
They could avail of various assistances such as product development, marketing, skills training, and financing including start-up livelihood seeding program. They could also use the shared service facility in their area.
Technical Education and Skills Development Authority-Cordillera Director Dante Navarro said they have apportioned scholarship programs to the beneficiaries such as agriculture courses, business process outsourcing course for call centers, driving courses, wellness and spa, beauty care services, food and bars.
Tesda is the BP2 cluster head for health, employment and human resources with the Department of Labor and Employment, Commission on Higher Education, Department of Education and Department of Health, as members. – Susan C. Aro