May 25, 2024

■  Harley F. Palangchao

Cordillera golfers representing various teams were champions in the 2nd Cordillera Golfers Foundation, Inc. Golf Tournament held at Camp John Hay, Pinewoods Golf & Country Club, and Baguio Country Club from April 1 to 6.

Raffy Tulfo in Action North led the pack of winners from the region, as it ruled the regular division A with 298 total points from members George Punasen, David Punasen, Romeo Lopez, and Godwin Belandres.

CGFI TOURNEY CHAMPIONS — The Raffy Tulfo in Action North composed of George Punasen, David Punasen, Romeo Lopez, and Godwin Belandres has emerged as champion in the regular division A of the of the 2nd Cordillera Golfers Foundation, Inc. Golf Tournament on April 1 to 6. Awarding the trophies were CGFI President Arnel Peil, CGFI Incorporator Bond Holden Mangaoang, and PRO-Cor Director B/Gen. David Peredo, Jr. — CGFI photo

The Tulfo group slowed down with 88 and 89 which were still enough to hold off a fast charging Cho Paeng which had the flight bests of 98 and 95 in the last two rounds but came up short with 294.

Cho Paeng, however, moved past Bravo Zulu and Immipugo I, which opened just seven and eight off the Tulfo Group but faded in the last two rounds with scores of 92 and 86 and 89 and 90.

Igolfers USA III had 193 gross and nipped overnight leader Kalinga Mountaineers I to win the seniors C division.

Rosendo Ross Reyes and Jesus Diaz also scored 17 points at the difficult Pinewoods and led the team to 59 markers for its three-day tally and a one-point victory over the Rep. Sonny Mangaoang-led squad.

Trailing by five points after the BCC leg of the three golf course, three-day tournament, the United States based squad got 13 and 12 points from Joel Pachao and Luke Umaming to overhaul the lead and the crown.

Mangaoang scored a flight best 26 but only got 12 and 10 from Renier Sarol and Henry Tubban, Sr., respectively, while Camilo Lummawin managed a measly five points for the team’s 53 and 192 tally to wound as bridesmaid in the two year old tournament.

First round leader Beneco Power improved to 56 from a woeful day two output of 48 for a three-day total of 180 and third place. Beneco, which opened with 76 points from the CJH golf course for the initial lead, got a lead of 20 from Art Bacoco, 15 from George Dumawing, 11 from Beneco General Manager Mel Licoben, and 10 from board chair Steve Cating.

Local dentist Doming Paglinawan led the Valencerina brothers with 27 points as Carl Fran Golf Guild closed with 95 points to overhaul a six-point deficit and win by a measly three in Seniors B.

Brothers Ceasar, Charles, and Cyril tallied 24, 23 and 21, in that order, for a three-day sum of 248 after rounds of 87 and 66 at the CJH and BCC golf courses, respectively.

First round leader Urdaneta City Golf Association led by Pete Zabala with 27 managed 86 points for a three-day haul of 245, just three of eventual third placer Davao Eaglemaster I. The round two leader from Davao had a closing round of 86 in the three way fight in the division which drew eight teams.

Ricky Libago finally took charge at Pinewoods and scored 29 points to lead Tesco to 108 to cruise to a 66 point victory in Seniors A.

With Ryan Abdon scoring 29, a 27 from Raul Magpantay, and 21 from Theody Pascual, Tesco had a three-day aggregate of 316.

Quickflo Forwarders, Inc., meanwhile, stayed a surging Aplaya de Ysabelle, scored a closing round of 67 for a 250 total and five point edge. Ysabelle closed with a 78 and 245 tally.

Three men in a four to play, four to count tournament is no problem for SEJ Construction as it cruised to a three-point victory in regular D.

Hannibal Guilando, Caloy Duasen, and Eric de Leon scored 19, 17 and 5 for 41 points to finish with 180 for a two-stroke victory on Power Putt Boys (45 for 178) and another two on the late charging Kumpadres Kevs (70 for 176).

The Lepanto Golf Club, meanwhile, took the friendship division by storm with a total of 269 points, or a 103-point lead over second placer Guwardiya Sibil II.

Chester Ayugat, Denver Codim-o, Donald Daganos, and Agustin Mendoza took the championship trophies while the San Roque Eagles placed third with 154 total points.