February 28, 2024

The city government copped three major awards in the regional search for outstanding government workers in the Cordillera by the Civil Service Commission-CAR.

Supervising City Tourism Operations Officer Aloysius Mapalo was adjudged the regional winner of the Presidential Lingkod Bayan Award in the individual category while the teams of the Baguio City Library and the Baguio Lead Contact Tracing took the plum in the group category.

The Baguio City Public Library team is composed of City Librarian IV Easter Pablo and Librarian II Catalina Oloan while the Baguio Lead Contact Tracing Team is composed of team leader Dr. Donabel Panes with Lt/Col. Maximo Sumeg-ang, Jr. and administrative assistants III Mischelle Junio and Jefferson Damoslog, all of the Police Regional Office-Cordillera and Information Analyst I Shan-ry Roberts.

The contact tracing team also made it as semi-finalist in the national level of the annual search.

They were awarded during the Parangal para sa mga Katangi-tanging Lingkod Bayani ng Kordilyera honor awards program in celebration of the 123rd Philippine Civil Service anniversary on Sept. 29 at Hotel Supreme.

The complete list of the 2023 regional winners:

Pag-asa award (individual category) – Tabuk City Health Officer Henrietta Bagayao, Redner Dayotao – Mechanical Plant Operator II, Baguio, Kathleen Glory David – Administrative Officer IV, Department of Social Welfare and Development-CAR, Tabuk City Public Employment  Services Officer Loyda Saboy, and Asipulo, Ifugao Nutrition Action Officer Jimmy Taguilingon.

Dangal ng Bayan awardees were Eleanor B. Ayan – Nutritionist Dietitian III, DSWD-CAR, Mary Hazel Ballena – School Principal II Department of Education Schools Division of Abra, Bernardo T. Cadaon, Jr. – Social Welfare Officer I, DSWD-CAR, and Eric C. Mandiit – Attorney IV, PhilHealth-CAR.

Presidential Lingkod Bayan awardees were the Baguio City Public Library with Easter W. Pablo, Librarian IV, as team leader, and Catalina B. Oloan, Librarian II as member and the Baguio Lead Contact Tracing Team composed of Panes, Sumeg-ang, Jr. Mischelle Junio, Damoslog, and Shan-ry Roberts as members in the group category.

For the individual category, awardees were, Mapalo and Roscinto Ian Lumbres – Professor IV, Benguet State University

Semi-finalists in the national level are Ayan, Cadaon, Jr., Ballena, and the Baguio Lead Contact Tracing Team. – Aileen P. Refuerzo